No Thanks

November 10, 2007 at 5:30 am 5 comments

 It was decided that Thanksgiving will be at our house this year.  My parents, my grandmother and my sister’s family will all come for the day from Michigan.  I am excited about this.  I am.  I think.  I have been married for nine years, and to date, we have not hosted a holiday.  In the last few years, my family has made excuses like, “I can’t afford the plane ticket” or “I don’t speak Russian”.   

So now I want to organize junk drawers.  I want to get up on a stool and reach the corners of the ten foot walls in the living room.  I want to clean out the refrigerator and in the bathroom I will attempt to scrub the grout back to a color that at least resembles what it once was.  

And I want to set a pretty table for Thanksgiving.   

On Halloween day I was in Target and the costumes were shuffled to the back of the store, already 60% off.  Target team members were busily hanging up oodles of Christmas stockings and laying crimson candles laced with raffia out on display.  After Target I headed over to Dollar General.  It’s where I do my real shopping after I have been seen tooling around Target.  The store had one table of paper plates and cups with fall leaves and the rest of it was set up for Christmas.     

I know that if Christmas and Thanksgiving were to wrestle, Christmas would win, hands down.  Christmas wins, every year, and if people want to get ready for Christmas at the end of October, so be it.  But the popularity of Christmas is making it very difficult to put together a nice Thanksgiving table.     

A friend from church did give us a Thanksgiving activity to do with our kids.  A few days ago, Elaina, Zoya and I pulled out two brown foam pieces, inserted one into the other and made a tree.  Every day a member from the family writes something he or she is thankful for on a red, green, or yellow leaf and pastes it on to the tree.  It is a beautiful idea and I am glad I have something else to focus on in my dinning room, other than my aspirations of Martha Stewart-hood.  So far, Zoya wrote she was thankful for her sisters, I wrote I was thankful for Jesus, and Elaina wrote she was thankful for our house.  Sergei, taking the assignment seriously and honing in on a teachable moment with the kids, wrote he was thankful for pork.    

In between my leaf pasting duties, I have been to a few more stores and I think I should announce that our Thanksgiving tablecloth may be the color of Santa’s suit this year.  There probably will not be a brilliant center piece with green and yellow striped gourds, foliage and bright orange pumpkins.  Corn husks and hay stacks will not be nicely displayed on our front porch. 

But if you stop by my house within the next two weeks, there will be a brown foam tree decorated with the precious thankfulness of three little girls, and their parents. 

Next time it is my turn to add a leaf, I will write that I am thankful for trees.   

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Red Balloons Polly Montana

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie  |  November 11, 2007 at 4:15 am

    Don’t stress out about your junk drawers! Anyone who opens them deserves what they find 🙂

    What a sweet story! Be sure to tell us what else the little girls write on their leaves.

    Reply
  • 2. Sergei  |  November 13, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    Hello…

    Reply
  • 3. denise  |  November 13, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    love it, great thing for the very overwhelming holidays, that have all been overcommercialized by greed of retailers. we need to take time and really think about what these special days or holidays are about. and as for your house, it is your home and what it is, is what makes it yours. GREAT BLOG!

    Reply
  • 4. Julie  |  November 19, 2007 at 9:27 am

    Have you really been married NINE years?? How is possible when neither of has aged at all? 😉

    Reply
  • 5. Happy Thanksgiving « Pocket Lint  |  November 27, 2008 at 12:36 am

    […] folks’ place in Michigan.  I am relieved this year of cleaning and cooking and decorating a good table (like I was obsessed about last year at this […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

