Why I blog

December 11, 2007 at 6:02 pm 6 comments

I have not posted for days and days.  I wanted to.  I wanted to connect with someone outside of my usual little world, if only for two minutes.  But I have simply had nothing to say.  Sure there are flickers of thought in my mind, kind of like gentle waves coming up to shore on a mild, spring day. But those thoughts are usually replaced with my to do list, therapy sessions, and ranting to my husband about how life can be “so hard.”  I also realized, looking back over my short blogging stint, that I am very much a “tie up your post with a nice moral to the story bow” blogger.  I don’t necessarily want to be that way, it just happens.  So what are my goals for this blog?

 My goal is to have something to do, albeit small and un-cataclysmic, that has nothing to do with every day life.  In other words, to do something other than change diapers, boil eggs, go to therapy sessions, do homework, clean the toilet.  The goal of this blog is to let what little thought activity that actually goes on in my brain as a mother of three young children ruminate to the point that it becomes something interesting, a teachable moment.  Most of the time I learn from writing.

Another goal is to write, just for the sheer pleasure of writing, to get comfortable in my writing skin, to inch forward to the dream inside me to write a book, or an essay, or something that can be published.  

A final goal is to keep friends and family up-to-date on us and to share what I am learning as Polly, Lainie and Zo’s mom.  But I have done this so poorly so far that I hesitate to add it.

This post is directed at me, to remind myself why I do this, why I like to do this and why I should continue to do this. And if I am frazzled, or have nothing really meaningful to say, well, so be it.  At least I am writing. 

Zoya is home sick today, and she just told me to go on www.pbskids.com because there is information about parenting there:0. 

Entry filed under: Books and Writing, Family, Parenting.

Christmas in three places Give Her a Hand

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theramblinghousewife  |  December 11, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    I blog for so many of the same reasons, though I just started blogging. I think its nice to create a little piece of the world, that belongs solely to me! 🙂
    And as long as you have children–I’m finding–you’ll never have a shortage of blog material! 🙂 Happy Blogging 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. oksana  |  December 12, 2007 at 11:58 pm

    Thank you

    Reply
  • 3. Barbie  |  December 14, 2007 at 1:59 am

    Hi Gillian,
    I just wanted to let you know that I often check your blog to see if there’s anything new, and I’m always elated when I find there is! 🙂 You are a blessing–I appreciate your candor. I appreciate so much that you allow us to see the human side of you—the doubts, frustrations, concerns, worries, disappointments, but you don’t DWELL on them. By admitting these thoughts and distractions, you give me (your reader!) permission to admit to all the same in my own life. But THANK GOD we both know that there is more–MUCH MORE–to this life than the things that sometimes bog us down. I find much comfort in the verse, “He knows our frame; he remembers that we are but dust…” (I hope I paraphrased that right!!) So go ahead and have your moments of being less than “Super Christian, Super Wife, Super Mom” (take your pick!) LOL and just remember that when YOU are weak, that’s when HE is strong, and HE he will never give you more than HE will give you the strength to get through! Sending many hugs to you, my dear sister in the Lord.
    Your friend, Barbie (P.S. KEEP WRITING!!!) 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. ukrainemom  |  December 14, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Barbie, you are so sweet to follow along in my blog. Do you have a blog? I’d love to keep up with you, too. Hugs to Em from Polly!

    Reply
  • 5. Dad  |  December 16, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    After 31 years of letting it all hang out weekly in KK, I’ve boiled the rationale to one word, catharsis.
    Keep it up. I love you, dad

    Reply
  • 6. ukrainemom  |  December 17, 2007 at 12:14 am

    Wikipedia definiton of Catharsis:

    Catharsis (Κάθαρσις) is a Greek word meaning “purification” or “cleansing” derived from the ancient Greek gerund καθαίρειν transliterated as kathairein “to purify, purge,” and adjective katharos “pure or clean” (ancient and modern Greek: καθαρός).

    Wanted to look up the definition becasue sometimes I understand the meaning of a word incorrectly. Although I do think my childhood journals were definitely cathartic, I wonder now about the blog. Not only do my posts generally point me to a “cleansing” but I also get a little bit narcissitic knowing others are reading what I write. I like it.

    Maybe that my also have a small part of 31 years of KK.

    I am sitting here eating my dinner of tomato soup and grilled cheese.
    Maybe the apple, indeed, doesn’t fall far from the tree.

    See you at Christmas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

