Strep all around

December 18, 2007 at 5:34 pm 6 comments

You know the cold I wrote about, the one that Zoya gave to Polly?  Well, Polly gave it to Elaina and Elaina gave it to me.  Only it isn’t just a cold, it’s strep throat.  Last week when Zoya went to the Doctor, she was treated for an ear infection.  So when the rest of us started to feel crummy, I waited b/c no one was complaining about their ears.  All of us were complaining about our throats, but I am just not that bright. 

 Yesterday, Sergei, who has been running around like crazy, fulfilling minimal duties over at the church, mostly heating up mounds of tomato soup and refilling our gingerale, took Elaina and Polly to the Doctor.  That’s how we got the news; strep throat.  He came home saying that the kids’ Doctor said that I absolutely had to go to the Doctor too.  But for the last four months I have been preoccupied with getting the kids set up with Doctors, and ENTs, and hearing tests.  It never even crossed my mind to find a Doctor for myself.

Last night I got in my car, and drove myself to an urgent care clinic.  The people there were nice, which made me want to hug them and slime up their shirts.  Doctor Augustus said that my strep test was positive and boy did I have it bad.  He asked me who gave me strep.  I said that it was my kids.  He then looked at my right hand, I think, expecting a wedding ring, which wasn’t there.  Sergei and I have always worn our wedding rings on the left hand, like they do in Ukraine.  Even in my partly dehydrated, crusty, blurry mental state, I was a little flattered that he was looking to see if I was single.  But alas, I get it, he was wondering if I was a sick, unwed mother of three.  There is no other reason why the Doctor would have wanted to know if my slimy self was single.  I was wearing my pajama shirt.

Today, Elaina, Polly and I are all on meds and I felt good enough to clean up the baby toys.  But that exhausted me so it’s back to the couch I go.

I’m whining through the computer.

Entry filed under: Family, Parenting.

Give Her a Hand A Christmas Story About Batteries

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joannmski  |  December 18, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    Oh, it is important to get that strep throat treated! It can turn into scarlet fever. It’s weird to think “hey, I have to take care of the mom too!” But you sure do. Hope you guys feel better soon.

    Reply
  • 2. ukrainemom  |  December 18, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    See, Joann, that’s why I need the forum…I am so lost w/o you guys!

    Reply
  • 3. alida  |  December 18, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    I am glad that you all are on meds now! Take care and I will be praying for you all!

    Reply
  • 4. Traci  |  December 19, 2007 at 7:08 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about the strep! I had it horribly a few years ago, so I know how awful it is. I’m glad you saw a doctor and I pray that you are all completely healed and have a wonderful Christmas.

    Reply
  • 5. Julie  |  December 20, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    I got strep for the first time last winter. Worst and scariest sore throat I ever experienced. Marek took me to the big medical building here in Brno, where you wait in a huge, white hallway lined with chairs filled with other sickies. Also lining the hall are white doors from which white-clad nurses poke their heads to call out for “Another” at which point she is mobbed by people like me who are proving survival of the fittest by who can get to her first. In the end I got the prescription and felt much better in two days.

    Reply
  • 6. Barbie  |  December 21, 2007 at 1:59 am

    So sorry to hear you and the girls are all sick! We’ll keep you in our prayers for a speedy recovery. Hugs to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

