They’re coming…

January 6, 2008 at 9:20 pm 6 comments

They’re coming.  In about forty-five minutes I will hear three sets of feet scampering up the back porch stairs.  There will be chaos and noise and whinny screams and protests, suitcases, dolls, diaries, a fury of little arms and legs.

On Thursday morning my Father called from Michigan.  He and my mom were wondering if the kids could come and stay with them for a few days before winter break ends.  Within two hours the girls were bundled up in the car, on their way to meet Grandpa at the rendezvous point.  Their “Going to Grandma’s” bags were packed full and stuffed in the trunk of the car.

After they’d gone, I cleaned up and sped off to Borders for a couple hours of browsing bliss.  I guess I didn’t really believe the children were actually gone, so I steered clear of home.  I took myself to a movie, a romantic comedy no less, armed with a bag of five dollar popcorn.  I munched on the popcorn, unabashedly, in the dark.  It was heaven. 

Then I came home.  No one was there!  Full from my popcorn dinner, I plopped on the couch and read for the rest of the night.  There was no need for the television or radio.  Silence was the nicest thing I had heard in a while.

Friday went much like Thursday.  In the evening we went out to dinner with friends and then regathered at our house to play board games.  Little people were no where to be found.  After our friends had gone I got ready for bed and slept soundly, all night long.  No one needed water, or to use the bathroom, or wanted to come and wedge herself between me and Sergei to warm up or hide from a monster in a bad dream.

This morning, instead of getting four people ready for church, I only needed to get myself ready.  I sat in the service, BABY FREE.  Nobody tugged on my shirt, or fought around me in loud whispers over a pen to draw with, or asked repeatedly when she would be excused for children’s church.

Last night, in the quiet, as I read my book and Sergei worked on the computer, he mentioned he missed the kids.  I thought of pudgy arms, sparkly eyes, energy, bedtime stories, being hugged tightly.

I guess I missed them too. 

Entry filed under: Family, Parenting.

My New Year’s Resolution The waiting room

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theramblinghousewife  |  January 7, 2008 at 1:47 am

    So glad you got to enjoy your weekend!
    Nice post! Enjoyed reading it!

    Reply
  • 2. Julie  |  January 7, 2008 at 3:18 am

    What a blessing grandparents are…and so nearby! Your weekend sounds like a delightful break I’m sure you really needed. Lately I’ve been reading up a storm and enjoying lots of silent moments. In two more weeks I’ll join your world… 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. ukrainemom  |  January 7, 2008 at 4:25 am

    Oh, Julie, I was wondering how soon! I am so excited! Prayers!!

    Reply
  • 4. GING'  |  January 7, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Your blog made me smile…it’s so true, in the midst of enjoying your quiet time you think “hey, no one is bugging the crap out of me…..it’s kinda sad….” I do envy your weekend, and wish I could have grabbed a movie with you….I wouldn’t have even eaten any of your popcorn, I would have ordered lots of chocolate!! Sigh….like the good old days. Well, hopefully us girls can crash your pad soon!! Love you, Ging’

    Reply
  • 5. Emily  |  January 7, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    But that is perfect. Time away makes us appreciate them so much more!

    Reply
  • 6. Amy  |  January 7, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    wow you are so lucky to have that time to yourself!! but dang, i sure would of missed my kids. i dont know if i could be gone from them that long!!
    i hope you had a good time! sure sounds like it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

