Vacation Review

January 28, 2008 at 5:45 am 4 comments

I shook Minnie’s hand.  I played tennis.  I floated on my back in the pool, listening to my children splash around the water, their middles secure with plastic, inflated rings.  The temperature was comfortable, mostly high 60’s.  The pool felt like a warm bath.  “Tug boat, tug boat, go so slow…tug boat, tug boat, go so fast…tug boat, tug boat, step on the gas…”

There were fresh picked grapefruit every morning for breakfast.   I saw manatees and a blind turtle at the Aquarium.  I read a mindless book and drank lots of coffee with cream.

Disney World was surprising.  The child in me sprang to life and I giggled with anticipation in line with Elaina, waiting to fly over Neverland in search of Peter Pan.  I clapped and waved when I saw Snow White in the parade.  Next time we plan a Florida trip, maybe we should spend more than one day at Disney?

I slept in four out of the seven mornings.  I bought a secret word search book at the grocery store and spent hours by the pool searching for words like “bromide” and “kissimee.”  I lathered spf 30 sun block all over the girls’ arms and legs, especially on the tops of their ears, every day, regardless if the sun was shinning or not.

I held the map while Sergei tried to point the nose of the rental car in the right direction of our daily destination.  We spent a lot of time in the car.

One night we went on a date while my Aunt and Uncle graciously entertained our kids.  Later in the evening they fed the girls and tucked them in bed while we were somewhere else, surrounded by people and noise, digging in to our Cuban entrees.   

I waited with the girls and all of our luggage at the airport the first day as Sergei ran back and forth to car rental places.  Seems I had made a reservation a month ago, but forgot where.  There were no cars available without a reservation.  In passing, I heard someone mention “Alamo” as I scooped the last of a smashed Twinkie out of the plastic.  About an hour later we were driving over a tall bridge as pelicans swooped and dove above our car. 

It would be interesting to hear the rest of the family’s reviews.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll ask them and record their answers.

Entry filed under: Family, Vacation.

Speak up Balance

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emily  |  January 28, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    My husband does all the reservations and puts them in a special file for each vacation, because you just know I would forget where I made it!

    Reply
  • 2. theramblinghousewife  |  January 28, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    How did I know, Emily would be the one to beat me here?? She’s got the timezone in her favor as she is 6 hours ahead! (Ha! Ha!)

    Sounds like you had a great time! It would be interesting to hear about the rest of the family’s reviews! I have a little inkling that the kids would focus on Disney! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. tom  |  January 28, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    It’s sounds like a wonderful vacation, just what January’s are for – getting away from the cold.

    Reply
  • 4. Ging'  |  January 29, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    I love the new pic with the cotton candy, it’s my favorite! Your vacation sounds marvelous!! We want to plan a Disney vacation one of these days, maybe you can give us some tips. How awesome was it to sleep in, and read by the pool?! You really needed some R&R time, I am so happy you and your family. Hopefully we can chat on the phone soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

