Eating out of my hand…actually off the floor

January 30, 2008 at 5:47 pm 9 comments

One of Polly’s Physical Therapists left a half hour ago.  Today was her six month evaluation.  Instead of the usual scream fest and protests to bouncing on a ball and standing at the couch, we just sat back to watch what Polly could do. 

In Gross Motor she tested at 18 months for stability and at 8 months for locomotion (mobility).  When Polly’s therapist explained the results, I was singing to myself “come on baby, do the locomotion.”

I was not disappointed even though six months ago she tested out at seven months, which means in mobility she has, technically, only gained a month.  Polly is twenty-one months old, which means she is about a year and a half behind her typically developing peers.  But I know her progress has been steady and to us, it’s been very exciting.  She is doing a lot more than six months ago.  She is doing a lot more than the test acknowledges.

The PT and I made a plan for the next six months.   And I had a revelation.  I have to stop seeing Polly as the baby. 

So at snack time this morning, instead of picking her up, placing her in her high chair, and giving her exactly two crackers to eat, while I sit and watch her every move, I asked Polly if she wanted a snack.  She shook her head yes.  I went to the kitchen and put some Cheez-its in a bowl.  Then I walked back to the end of the hallway, showed Polly the snack, and  walked back to the kitchen.  I placed the bowl on the tiles and told Polly to come and get her snack.

She sat at the end of the hall and cried.  “Polly, if you want your snack, come and get it.”  I plunked myself down on the cold floor and ate a few Cheez-its.  She watched for a moment and then started to fuss again.  “Polly, come and eat.”

I got up and went about my tasks.  Polly continued to fuss.  She is stubborn. 

After five minutes or so, she realized I wasn’t biting.  She stopped crying and I heard her sludge toward the kitchen.  She army crawled to the crackers.  I laid on the praise.  She then happily scarfed down her Cheez-its.  She dumped the whole bowl and managed to squash a bunch of them into a pile of crumbs with her rear.

When she finished eating, she began picking up the left-over crackers and crumbs and carefully put them back into her pink plastic bowl.

Bring on the cognition eval…we’re ready. 

Entry filed under: Cute kids, Down syndrome, Family, Parenting.

Balance I cannot find my white, terry cloth bathrobe

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joannmski  |  January 30, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Yay!! For her and also for you. That is so great. It is so tempting to treat the youngest as a baby for too long, much less the youngest who may have developmental issues too.

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  January 30, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Gillian, I love reading your posts! I love hearing about what Polly is doing and in each one I can hear of your love for her. You are inspinring.

    Reply
  • 3. crickl's nest  |  January 30, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    That is a sweet story and I loved hearing about her and you. Oh, and I usually read your blog in my bloglines window, which means I had not seen your cute CUTE header! I love it.

    Reply
  • 4. ukrainemom  |  January 31, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Thank you all for your comments. It’s nice to be read.

    Oh, and Sarah, so glad to see you! I put your blog in my favorites to keep up with you guys.

    Reply
  • 5. theramblinghousewife  |  January 31, 2008 at 3:07 am

    Cute story!!! I love hearing about Polly!

    It’s so hard to be the “Mean Mommy” sometimes! I like to “baby” my baby too. But like you said, we’re not doing them any favors.

    Thanks for reminding me!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Emily  |  January 31, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Good for you. When mine feels like being stubborn, there is almost nothing I can do to convince him otherwise, and we often have a twenty minute meltdown because I changed the usual way of doing things. Good for you for sticking to your guns and giving her the encouragement she needs.

    Reply
  • 7. kevintessa  |  January 31, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    What a touching story! I just wanted to cry – not just at Polly’s accomplishments – but also at your strength and wisdom. I bet you just wanted to eat her up when she determined to get to those Cheez-its!

    Reply
  • 8. Deanne  |  February 1, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Hi Gillian! Thank you for stopping by my blog, it’s great to ‘reconnect’ again! I have often thought of you and your family and prayed for you all since we moved. Occasionally I get an update from someone in St. Joe as to how you guys are doing….but now I can get my info first hand, from you! I just love these things called ‘blogs’! 🙂

    I, too, have to adjust my thinking and actions in regards to my youngest, Isabel. She’s 2 1/2 now and I still call her ‘baby’. I can’t help it, but it’s true! For her sake, I need to let go and allow her to learn and grow. But she’s still my baby….. 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Dad  |  February 22, 2008 at 12:05 am

    Hi Gill its Mom and you are my baby and yes I know with every step you wanted to take I always thought she can’t do that we do not have to worry and when you did I would have soemthing new to worry about. I am still upset that you and Drea went to the Ukraine to work for that year which seemed like twenty. I am wonderfing if you ever sitll feel like the baby.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

