I cannot find my white, terry cloth bathrobe

February 1, 2008 at 3:58 pm 9 comments

I cannot find my white, terry cloth bathrobe.  S got if for me years ago.  There have been days I lived in that bathrobe.  I’ve worn it in Michigan, Ukraine, Illinois.  Somehow, in this last move, I lost it.  Only a few items have moved with me so many times.  The bathrobe is not really white anymore…wherever it is.  It is a bit yellow, but still soft, the belt wraps around my middle tightly, oh, I remember the length, just above my knee.  The sleeves are just right. 

Too bad I am not still in the hospital with Polly in Ukraine.    It was more like a western hotel.  A woman came to my room every morning and evening to clean.  And there was a lady whose sole purpose in her work was to ensure that the patients had fresh bathrobes.  I tell you, I have not received that kind of service before or since.  One day I had four “fresh robes” because everytime the lady came in to ask, I forgot the word for “robe” in Russian.   And, in having no idea what she was talking about, I just politely answered “Da.”

Wow, almost two years later, I actually found something I miss about spending twenty days in the hospital with Polly.

Oh, and is it terry cloth, terry-cloth, or terrycloth?  They all came up fine on spell-check.

Entry filed under: Polly, Ukraine, white bathrobes.

Eating out of my hand…actually off the floor My dream

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theramblinghousewife  |  February 1, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    Sorry abou the robe!! And good question–I can’t spell to save my life. And while we’re on the subject of spelling, I find it completely ironic that the WordPress Spellcheck does not recgonize the words blog, blogger, and blogoshere???

    Does not at all make sense to me! Hope you find robe! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Mari  |  February 2, 2008 at 2:43 am

    You are fabulous. Thank you for your encouragement, and the anecdote about Ukrainian hospital experience. I probably seemed like the most demanding American college girl for always replying in the affirmative to my Italian host family’s questions about whether or not I wanted something, only because “si” was one of the 3 words I knew. Woops.

    Reply
  • 3. alida  |  February 2, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    I hope that your bathroobe turns up!!

    Reply
  • 4. Amy  |  February 3, 2008 at 3:58 am

    oh man, that sucks about the robe!! i hope you can find it!!! i have no idea on the spelling either!!

    Reply
  • 5. Emily  |  February 3, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    I suspect that, in years to come, there will be random things like that I miss about living here. Here’s to the bathrobe, wherever it may be.

    Reply
  • 6. Ging'  |  February 4, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Gillie-
    If “little sprouts” can find their way home, so can “fuzzy robes”….I know your robe is out there somewhere, just waiting to be wrapped around you again. DUDE I love, love, loved….(3xs loved) you last blog about Polly and the crackers (he pun inteneded) she is really getting to be quite the mover huh? And so cute that she put the leftovers away, I can picture her sweet little face doing it too!! I really miss you guys, when do you see a reunion happening? Love you, Ging’

    Reply
  • 7. Ging'  |  February 4, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    uh….don’t ask me about spelling …. I just wrote “he pun inteneded” up there instead of “no pun intended”….yikes, I really need to pay more attention to what I write!! :0)

    Reply
  • 8. Anonymous  |  February 5, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Thanks for the birthday idea. KB

    Reply
  • 9. A. Loshbough  |  February 8, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    Hey I am on Amys machine and I do not know if they are called machines but to me they are. Love you and sorry about the robe but…. Can’t wait to see you sunday I miss you all.
    Tell s to pray for Niece Kim, that’s Rob S.s wife she is having radiaiton for cancer of the breast. Sorry to hear that and i need to let my praying machine take off. Love you and love your work Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

