Tidbits

February 8, 2008 at 10:33 pm 2 comments

A friend of mine asked me how many times we’ve moved.  For some reason I was thinking about it in terms of our oldest daughter, Elaina.  After counting, I realized she has moved seven times.  She is seven years old.  Surprisingly, she is a well-adjusted kid.  The other day, in a conversational lull, she told S and I that getting candy is pretty much her goal in life.

Elaina is nominated for a Pulitizer Prize at school in the category of Best Personal Memoir.  Her book, entitled “Polly” is about her mom having a baby, and about the baby having Down syndrome.  Her last page reads, “we lived happily together.”  Today we received a note in her folder encouraging all Pulitzer Prize nominees to prepare acceptance speeches, just in case.   She makes this writer mama proud.

Polly has a new gig.  She has to stand in a device (that looks like something Grandpa would use in the Adam’s family) for three hours a day.  Her legs and tummy muscles need to strengthen.  Also, she has to start seeing the world from an upright position. 

We are doing it in one hour increments.  She does OK for about half of the time.  The rest of the time she fusses.  As I write she is in her trap making noise.  When I look over at her, she stops whining and waves and smiles.  When I go back to the computer, she starts to cry again.

Zoya’s phonetic writing is really taking off.  I helped in her kindergarten class one morning about a month ago.  Some kids in the class were just reading away.  Zoya is doing fine in kindergarten, but she isn’t reading and then, she wasn’t writing much either.  After meeting with her teachers (who think that she is doing great) I now work with her just a little bit longer every night after her homework is done.  She is memorizing sight words and pointing them out in books we read together.    The other day S sat down with her to read.  Zoya batted her long eye lashes at him and said, “it’s a long one…do you mind”?  The book was like twenty pages of pure text.  OK, I exaggerate, but you get the point.

Entry filed under: Cute kids, Down syndrome, Family, Parenting, Polly.

My dream I’m a human blanket

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TheRamblingHousewife  |  February 9, 2008 at 4:06 am

    Your so funny! And I remember the standers from my Special Education days–I had students that used standers as part of their physical therapy program. You are bringing me back several years!

    And your Polly sounds a lot like my Keegan! If I’m in arm’s reach, he’s fine. The minute I move out of arm’s reach . .. he’s complaining! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Amy  |  February 10, 2008 at 4:50 am

    Hey , hope that helps Polly!! is it a stander or what exactly is it?
    email me sometime!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

