I’m a human blanket

February 12, 2008 at 4:07 am 6 comments

I have a very funny brother.  Growing up, we would sit around after dinner at the table and laugh at his stand-up.  Many of his jokes have stuck with me over the years.

Today the kids were out of school.  We had planned to go to Michigan for the time off.  I played phone tag with therapists for a few days.  Eventually, I rearranged Polly’s therapies so that we could go.

Lake effect snow, frigid temperatures and a firm “no” from Grandpa Bayer changed our plans.  It just wasn’t safe to travel.  So today we watched Oprah.  It was about a family in need who got a house make-over.  During the commercials I made a deal with the kids.  We would jump up and do one “morning job” before the next segment.  This is how we all got dressed, straightened up, and brushed our teeth.

Things went generally well until tonight.  All day Long Elaina complained about her ear popping.  Around six, the ear went from popping to hurting.  By eight-thirty, after two baths, chewable Tylenol, numerous back rubs, prayer and a hot compress, I was at my wits end.

“I’m a human blanket.”  My brother would murmur as he would canopy over a family member against the fridge or in the hallway.  We’d laugh, he’d move on.

I didn’t know what else to do.  Knowing that doctor’s offices were closed, we were in the middle of a snow storm, and S was gone tonight for class, leaving me home alone with three children, two of whom were nestled in their beds, one of whom was crying out that she was cold and that her ear hurt; I became a human blanket. 

I tucked Elaina back in as best I could.  Then I canopied over her for a few moments, transferring whatever warmth my body held over to her, and became a human blanket.

Thanks, J, for the parenting advice. 

We will be making a sick call to the doctors tomorrow at nine o’clock.

Entry filed under: Family, Parenting.

Tidbits A Favor?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  February 12, 2008 at 4:57 am

    I hope elaina is feeling better. we are getting hit with nasty now again today and tonite. im sure its headed your way!!! stay warm!

    Reply
  • 2. Deanne  |  February 12, 2008 at 5:26 am

    Ah man, kids rarely get sick at convenient times. I hope Elaina is able to sleep well tonight (and, subsequently, you too) and get through the night in relative ease. That’s what I’ll be praying for! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  February 12, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Sickness stinks. The only thing worse than Abigail being sick is healthy Abigail who doesn’t understand a sick mommy. I hope everyone is feeling better.

    Reply
  • 4. theramblinghousewife  |  February 13, 2008 at 3:39 am

    Sometimes, that’s the only things kids need, “a human blanket.” I just didn’t know that there was a word for it! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Justin  |  February 18, 2008 at 1:11 am

    who knew I gave parenting advice?! Have you heard the one about…

    Reply
  • 6. Ging'  |  February 18, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Gilla-
    DUDE that was sooo funny…”I’m a human blanket”….”no…no, just no” ….”come on …let’s scratch, yah, let’s scratch”…. wait, I meant that was very touching and motherly….but in a funny way!! I hope her ear is better soon, and she is up and running soon, love you guys and miss you, ging’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

