A glimpse of the High School me

March 22, 2008 at 7:23 pm 6 comments

So I wrote my depressing post and then left for MI for a few days.  The girls had Spring Break and I was going nuts in bleak Chicago.  Our quick trip lasted a little longer due to snow at the end of MARCH.  Anyway, we’re back.

Thursday night I went to see my niece and nephews perform in their High School variety show.  Sitting in the auditorium of my old school brought back memories. 

I was tagged to tell seven random things about myself (thanks crickl). 

Here is a list of random things about me in High School.  (You might want to click away now.)

1.  When I graduated from High School I counted how many plays and variety shows I had participated in…23.  I am so glad that part of my life is over.  Where did I find the nerve to do all that?

2.  I once collapsed on a football field at band practice due to heat stroke.  Only, at first, no one noticed because one of the tubas had caught on fire at exactly the same time. 

edited to say:  the tuba had been on the grass for a while with a towel in it.  Add blaring sun and you get a fire, I guess.

3.  I was still taking 9th grade Algebra as a Senior.

4.  My choir director made me end my cheer-leading career my Sophomore year, to focus on my music (clearly, that has paid off).

5.  My Junior and Senior years I went through a black phase.  I even scribbled black eye liner on my lips.  Don’t ask…I have no idea… 

6.  I fell down a flight of stairs in front of a packed auditorium of peers waiting to take their SAT tests.

7.  I worked at a petting zoo as the big bad wolf.  It was terribly hot, the pay was lousy, and whenever a little kid peered through one of my gigantic eye holes, I growled at him.

 Anyone who wants to take up this challenge is tagged, as I have yet to figure out how to link on my blog. 

Entry filed under: high school.

Overcast Христос Воскрес!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. michele  |  March 22, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    How does a tuba catch fire?

    Reply
  • 2. ukrainemom  |  March 22, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Well, it was lying on the grass for a while with a towel in it. I guess towel + tuba + blaring sun = fire.

    Reply
  • 3. crickl's nest  |  March 23, 2008 at 6:25 am

    LOL That is the funniest 7 things I’ve ever heard!!!

    I am imagining how humble you must have been…..heehee

    Thanks, that was great!

    Reply
  • 4. Julie  |  March 23, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Yes. the funniest. Still smiling. I can totally imagine you telling this, too.

    Reply
  • 5. theramblinghousewife  |  March 24, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Ukraine Mom . . .a goth girl?

    I would have never guesses! lol! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. GING'  |  March 24, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    GILLLLLLAAA-
    I AM ROLLIN’ ABOUT THE HIGH SHOOL SEVEN!!! SOO FUNNY- I COULD ADD A FEW RANDOM BITS HERE, IF ANYONE HAS ASKED FOR MORE! I HAVE FOND MEMORIES OF YOU SPINNING A FOOTSTOOL IN THE AIR, AND OF THE “MATT DOLL” TAKING A SWIM IN THE TOILET, OR GOING TO MONET’S FOR COFFEE B/C WE THOUGHT WE WERE SO COOL. ALSO, THERE WAS THIS INCIDENT ABOUT YOU MEETING BOBBY BROWN. GOOD TIMES, GOOD TIMES. DON’T FORGET GOOD OLE SWEATS MATTNER, AND WHAT EVER BECAME OF OUR FRIEND SPIKER? DON’T YOU KEEP IN TOUCH WITH HIS MOM? I AM SORRY THAT YOU ARE FEELING BLAH, AND YOU ARE SICK, I AM GLAD YOU CAN BE HONEST ON YOUR BLOG B/C WE ALL HAVE THOSE DAYS, AND YOU SHOULD KNOW…..”YOUR NOT ALONE, IN THIS WORLD, YOUR NOT ALONE, YOU’VE GOT ME-HE-HEE!!” YOU KNOW I LOVE YOU TO PIECES!! HAVE A GREAT DAY, LOVE YOU- GING’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

