Who doesn’t need therapy?

April 3, 2008 at 10:00 pm 9 comments

Polly has six therapy sessions a week through the state funded early intervention program. 

On Mondays she sees her speech therapist at 9:00am and her developmental therapist at 3:30pm.  On Tuesdays, S takes her to a physical therapy session at a center.  Wednesday, you’ll find me answering the door at 9:15am and 4:00pm and she “plays” with another physical therapist and occupational therapist. 

Thursdays are off.  Polly and I lay around in our pajamas.  We blog, play with the toy xylophone, do laundry, and watch Signing Times, respectively. 

We enjoy our space.

Friday mornings, we kiss the older girls goodbye as S walks them to school.  Then it’s breakfast, clean up and we head back to the center for one more physical therapy to round out the week.

It’s been a struggle to wrap my head around this much activity.  Those who know me well, know that I am a low energy person.  We’ve been doing therapy since Polly was eight weeks old. 

With Polly’s busy little life, I blew off the whole extra-curricular thing for Elaina and Zoya.  I have kept up with their school schedules.  And we do homework and read about alphabet letters climbing trees and make forts under the dinning room table, but I haven’t looked around for soccer, or art classes, or dance.

One afternoon a few weeks ago, Zoya crawled up on the couch with me.  We watched Polly try to stack blocks with C, her OT. 

“I wish I had Down syndrome,” she said.

The way Zoya sees it, Polly has six adults who play with her every week.  They bring games and sing songs, color, roll a ball back and forth.

I went on-line and googled park programs in Chicago.  I knew that Zoya would love ballet class, and with all the tumbling Elaina does around the house, gymnastics would be the ticket for her.

This week I waited outside of Elaina’s gymnastics class.  Her first session found her one of twelve little girls excited about the class.  Everyone was nervous, unsure of what was expected of them.  Hair pulled back into tight pony tails.  The gym was chilly.  

I sat on the “mother’s bench,” book in hand, casually chatting with other mothers. 

“Have you had a class here before?”

“Is the teacher any good?”

Zoya will attend ballet class on Saturdays.

We seek opportunities for Polly to help her grow, to develop, to reach her potential.

But  “therapy” is important for all three girls and Zoya helped me remember that.

Maybe I should look for a class for frazzled mothers trying to juggle their childrens’ lives.

Where do I sign up?

Entry filed under: Dance class, Down syndrome, Mothering, Parenting, Polly, Therapy.

A good read, I’m sure. Happy Birthday, Baby!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tara  |  April 3, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    blogging IS my on-line class for frazzled moms! It is keeping me sane 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. ukrainemom  |  April 4, 2008 at 1:20 am

    Good point, Tara. I thought about that after I posted. Blogging is very cathartic.

    Reply
  • 3. theramblinghousewife  |  April 4, 2008 at 3:18 am

    I don’t know, but when you find it . . .can you sign The Rambling Housewife Up too?

    All the therapy can be exhausting! And I have cut ours back a little for my own sanity. I realize Polly is a little more involved as far as physical development. I completely applaud you for exhausting yourself and helping Miss Polly reach her potential!

    And you are so right! We do tend to get wrapped up in our children with special needs! It is very easy to do!

    Great job at finding balance! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Ging'  |  April 4, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    oohhh….ohhhhh sign me up for the frazzled mothers class!!! great blog, and I love the pic of the three girls, and polly with her big girl walker!! go polly go! Zoya is so sweet, I am glad you have her in ballet. we just signed up kadin and layla for gymnastics, (laine and layla will have to compare notes) starts next week, and riley wants to take fencing!! I found a class, but need to call yet. we just get so busy with life, it feels good as a mom to be able to do something fun for them- have a great day, ging’

    Reply
  • 5. joannmski  |  April 4, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    It is so hard to keep up with kids.

    I make each kid pick one outside thing. That’s all they get. And sometimes it’s a two-for-one, when the girls would pick the same thing (which I would HIGHLY encourage)…

    I’m so mean. But mama has to stay sane, or else they will all suffer.

    Reply
  • 6. Mary  |  April 5, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    So true. We’ve tried to show our son extra attention too.

    Wow! You’re very fortunate. My daughter, Leah, gets one speech, one occupational and one physical therapy session a month through our state EI program. We just started private therapy but in return, lose our EI sessions.

    Reply
  • 7. Amy  |  April 8, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    hey if you find that class, let me know… i need it!!! haha

    Reply
  • 8. Alyona  |  April 10, 2008 at 2:49 am

    Oh, dear… you are doing your own therapy by writing 🙂 I would certainly enjoy half a day session for talking with you — over some coffee – to get that therapy going….

    Kids will appreciate your efforts, I’m sure. You are a great mom and I wish you would remind yourself of that.

    Reply
  • 9. The Mom at Gymnastics « Pocket Lint  |  April 17, 2008 at 2:39 am

    […] posted about Elaina signing up for gymnastics.  I waited outside her class with a book on the first […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

