I was right…

April 11, 2008 at 7:19 pm 3 comments

I got my copy of Road Map To Holland on Polly’s birthday.  When I looked at the cover, my hands trembled.  I opened the book and started to cry.  Anticipation, happiness, thankfulness, excitement for my friend and her accomplishment.

I identified with a lot of Jennifer’s experiences and feelings and struggles.  And the writing…she has a way of changing instances in every day life into magic.

My favorite part (well, there were many) was the very last paragraph.  She writes, 

“At our house, people take off their shoes and leave them in a line by the door.  When no one’s watching, Avery tucks his favorite things into the empty shoes, like parting gifts – the Matchbox fire truck, the little green ninja, his blue spoon.  Despite the startled guests and the stubbed toes, it’s hard for me to be mad at him.  He’s the child that I wanted, that I did not know I wanted.

He is my son.”

 To read more of Jennifer’s thoughts, you can find her here

And if you’d like to borrow the book, let me know.

Entry filed under: Books and Writing, Down syndrome.

Happy Birthday, Baby!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jennifergg  |  April 11, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Happy Birthday to Polly, and to you. What a wonderful day! And thank you for learning how to post images on your blog for Road Map…you’re the best blogger ever, it’s true!

    Reply
  • 2. TheRamblingHousewife  |  April 13, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    So cool! Sounds like a great read!

    Reply
  • 3. Amy  |  April 14, 2008 at 2:36 am

    i ams still waiting for me book!! i cant wait to get it and just read and read and read!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

