Re-potting a plant

April 26, 2008 at 9:06 pm 8 comments

I am not good with plants.  In fact, I kill them.

In Ukraine, apartment living did not merit a lot of opportunity to turn my black thumb green.  But in our first apartment, we did have flower boxes outside of our balcony.

So that first summer found me at the outdoor market in Kiev with a 3×5 index card.  Armed with words like “plant” and “flower”  written in large print in Russian, I dutifully approached several babushki (grandmothers).  They sold things like sausage and dried beans,  panty hose and flowers.  It was still the time in my life when all I could muster was the “grunt and point.”  Quickly, I would rattle off words on my card and point vigorously at the things I wanted to buy.  My eyes beseeched the little grandma to have pity on my soul and not ask me to repeat myself.  Amazingly, that day, S answered the doorbell and there stood his American wife with a few trays of flowers, little packets colored with vibrant pictures of flowers and a potted plant or two.  Having already purchased the soil, I got to work.

And the flower boxes looked nice, for about two weeks.

Then weeds started to grow.  Only, I didn’t know they were weeds and I left them alone.

Fast forward a few more weeks.  I was sitting at the table in the living room with my language teacher.  As I struggled to conjugate a verb out loud, my teacher interrupted me.

“Why are you letting the weeds grow so high in your flower boxes?”

And so I stayed away from anything that needed to be watered (minus my children, of course) for a few years.

At IKEA about a month ago, my thumb got pricked again.  I saw a plant that stood almost as tall as I am.  I envisioned the plant in our dinning room, bringing life, exuded oxygen.  I convinced S that I would not kill it, secretly picking out the less expensive option, just in case.

Last weekend, my folks were in town for a visit.

“You need to re-pot that plant, that’s why it is turning yellow,” my mom said.

I hauled two bags of potting soil into the house yesterday, and last night, I believe, I successfully re-potted the plant.  It now has room to grow.  Well, it should.  We’ll see.

It made me think about what has been going on in my life recently.  I feel like I have been turning a little yellow.  I have been in need of more water.  To be planted in a bigger pot, to expand, to grow. 

In an effort to grow, l’ve joined Chicago Moms Blog.  Click the link and then scroll down the page to check out my Biography and stay tuned for a post there from me in the next few weeks.

I’m pulling weeds. 

Entry filed under: Culture differences, Flowers, Plants, Russian, Shopping, Ukraine, Weeds.

Someone’s at the door Patheticism

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Miss Barb  |  April 26, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Hi to Polly and family, somehow I stay connected with you from Ella and family, hope all is well, I am new at this blog thing, does my email address come to you at least, hope so, tell Polly hi, our little friend Ella is making progress and we love that. Miss Barb

    Reply
  • 2. michele  |  April 27, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    by the roots, my dear. keep pulling them out by the roots.

    congratulations on the chicago moms blog!

    Reply
  • 3. crickl's nest  |  April 27, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Yes, congrats! What an honor!

    Very nice segue, btw. 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah  |  April 28, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    I am so glad you are feeling more and more at home and at ease.

    Reply
  • 5. theramblinghousewife  |  April 28, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    This is a great idea! Way to spread your wings, a little! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Little Miss E's Mom  |  April 28, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    I know the feeling of needing to be transplanted, cared for, etc! Time to read a self improvement book or something!

    Great post!

    Reply
  • 7. Dad  |  April 29, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Congrats Gill Bug on your “watering”.

    Reply
  • 8. alida  |  April 30, 2008 at 6:47 am

    I could so relate to going to the market with an index card that has what I am looking for in Russian in large print!!

    I also know the feeling of needing to weed things or be trnasplanted! thanks for your post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

