Patheticism

April 30, 2008 at 4:15 pm 4 comments

I made up a new word:  patheticism.

Yesterday morning I woke up with a tight back.  I rarely have back issues.  Although I do remember one time my back gave out when I sneezed.  S and I were newly married and living in an unbelievably hot and dusty one bedroom apartment in the Ukrainian Village here in Chicago.  I remember spending two days straight flat on my back.  Our good friends brought over their television so that I would have something to do to keep my mind off of the pain.

So this time, I didn’t do anything major like sneezing.  What I feel is more of a dull ache and a lot of tightness.  It makes for a long day when your two year old is not walking and weighs 26 pounds.

Sleeping flat helped.  Until I got up and started walking around at 7 am.

Polly had physical therapy this morning.  Lately she has been doing so well in her sessions, but today she cried and cried and cried. 

I know she isn’t really sick because she just saw her doctor yesterday for a check-up.

Decidedly, it’s her teeth, still.

The PT left, I gave Polly her obligatory dose of baby Tylenol and then we laid on the floor whinning to one another.

After a while I got her, somehow, up to her bed for a nap.  She was glad to go. 

I just looked up patheticism.  It seems I did not make this word up.

Patheticism:  In its simplest terms, it’s appearing helpless enough that one does not present any danger to those with the power to do one harm.

Exactly.

 I’m going back to the floor. 

Entry filed under: Back Ache, Chicago, Friends, Marriage, Therapy.

Re-potting a plant First Post At Chicago Moms Blog

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Meredith  |  April 30, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    I’m sorry that “patheticism” is running rampant. I hope everyone is feeling better soon! I also wanted to let you know that you’ve been nominated for a blogging award 🙂 http://cornishadoptionjourney.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  • 2. noelle  |  April 30, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    While you are down on the floor don’t look under the couch or chairs–what you discover may push you further into your state of being overcome. Instead, may I suggest thinking of the marvelous blessings in your life. I think sometimes God makes us flat on our backs in order to slow us down and focus on His blessings to us–so take advantage of the down time and allow God to lift your spirit while He strengthens your back.

    Reply
  • 3. ukrainemom  |  April 30, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Good point, Noelle! I did take a peek under the couch! Ouch!

    Reply
  • 4. jooleebrooks  |  May 2, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    well, I don’t think back pain is so pathetic. But I emaphasize with you. Or is it…sympathize? Anyways, I hope it feels better soon. I am the pathetic one, complaining about mother’s wrist. At least I don’t have mother’s back, like you. oowwwwwww.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

