Ocular

May 5, 2008 at 11:43 pm 7 comments

A few weeks ago my husband was saying how he would like to have more friends to hang out with.  You know, watch a game, have a meal, that kind of stuff.  I looked over at him but before I could speak he quickly added, “friends in real life.” 

He likes to chide me about me cyber existence.  It all started after I had Polly.  I remember leaving the hospital about a week and a half after I gave birth, just for a few hours to get some different clothes and see the other two girls.

While there, I got on-line and typed in “new parents of a child with Down syndrome.”  This site popped up and I saw many children with Ds, smiling, playing with siblings, hugging their parents.  I felt a glimmer of hope.  I’ve been a member of that community on-line now for two years.

Then, about a year ago, once again I needed support in a different area of my life.  I went back to my computer and typed in the words “pastors wives.”  Another forum popped up and since then I’ve enjoyed the company of other woman who find themselves in the same position, peppered across different States and denominations.

I spend more time on-line then I would like to admit.  It seems the older I get the less outgoing I become.

So imagine my surprise when I found myself one of two hundred women for a conference this weekend.  Let’s just say it was my attempt at real life friends.  By Sunday morning I was reeling from exhaustion, a fake smile glued to my face.  Oh, how I missed my laptop.  I like the people I was with.  I am just not used to the constant interaction.  

The ocular is highly overrated.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Down syndrome, Friends, Polly.

First Post At Chicago Moms Blog A hole in my pocket

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theramblinghousewife  |  May 6, 2008 at 2:17 am

    LoL! So funny!

    Reply
  • 2. kwgoodwin  |  May 6, 2008 at 11:14 am

    I sometimes wonder if we need more “real life” friends… but then again I’m usually so tired from life these days that I too crave a little solitude. Email is so much easier than face to face. I do miss having you close however… there are some friends you need and WANT no matter how tired you get!

    Reply
  • 3. kwgoodwin  |  May 6, 2008 at 11:14 am

    By the way it’s B not K – not sure why I’m logged in as him on my laptop… hmmmm.

    Reply
  • 4. noelle  |  May 6, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    I have to laugh because I think how great God is and how diverse His creation is. I settle for email and blog pages for updates because I realize it is better than nothing BUT I would much rather be surround and crammed together with a room full of friends–sharing stories and emotions together. The chance to go somewhere and meet people from all over and hear their stories and how God is impacting their lives–WOW! It is exhausting and energizing at the same time.

    Miss ya!

    Reply
  • 5. jooleebrooks  |  May 6, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Oh I know, and then I feel like if I were face to face with all my online friends, would I still be able to be friends with them? It’s so much easier to think of “conversation” when typing and revising along the way. Plus you dn’t have to wear that smile. Just pajamas.

    Reply
  • 6. Tanya  |  May 9, 2008 at 3:34 am

    I love hanging out with my friends, but I’m basically an introvert, and I’m exhausted after our weekly get together. I can be on-line for hours and it’s not a problem.

    Blessings,
    Tanya

    Reply
  • 7. denise  |  May 9, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    I do believe that you have some REAL friends that invite you to dinner, or just to hang out, we are still waiting for them to come out from behind the computer and meet us for dinner or whatever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

