A hole in my pocket

May 9, 2008 at 6:57 pm 8 comments

I want to blog every day.  OK, twice a week. 

I’m lucky if I post at least once a week.

A couple of months ago a sweet friend gave me a massage gift card for my birthday.  I read over the sheet and decided on which masseuse Id like to try.  I called, mentioned the card and asked for the massage therapist who treats women postnatal. 

“How old is your baby?” I was asked.

“Two.”

Wow. 

Polly is two and some days I feel like a mother of a newborn.  And it’s not because she isn’t walking or talking.  It’s because I still have that brain fog.  The fog that descends once the placenta is birthed and you are stitched up and sent home with a screaming, wrinkly little thing. 

I realize that our situation was quite traumatic, therefore it may take a little longer than the average mother to settle in to.  Hopefully the postnatal sweating that occurs when I am involved in strenuous activity like taking a shower, will go away soon.

Today there isn’t anything left over.  Not even pocket lint.

And yes, I understand this post isn’t cohesive.  It just proves my point. 

I blame the fog. 

Entry filed under: Friends, Mothering, Parenting, Polly.

Ocular Put down the remote

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alida  |  May 9, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    I pray that the massages offer you some relief!

    Reply
  • 2. theramblinghousewife  |  May 9, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    I totally get this . ..

    I only have two little ones . . .

    There is seldom anything left . . .

    I know the feeling, Sister.

    I think that’s why I blog . ..

    It’s something that is mine. (and mine only) 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. michele  |  May 10, 2008 at 2:06 am

    hear you.

    i had two kids,

    no complications.

    so, no excuses.

    still, major fog until they were 8 and 10 (when the eldest started sleeping through the night!)

    Reply
  • 4. crickl's nest  |  May 10, 2008 at 3:06 am

    I would love it if you blogged at least twice a week or more! And I very much do understand that feeling. My youngest is 10 and I still have those foggy days in my brain.

    And it was cohesive….absolutely. (well unless there is someone reading who has never had a new baby)

    Reply
  • 5. jooleebrooks  |  May 10, 2008 at 5:41 am

    cohesive means something like “all the points sticking together”, right? Then I think you got it. But then again, I’m still in a bit of a fog myself….

    Enjoy your massage!!!

    Reply
  • 6. noelle  |  May 11, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    The fog goes away–I am still waiting. I say all the time that I gave my brain to my children while they were in womb. some days, I ask myself often–is it really true that I have two kids and I am responsible for them? It seems like I am not ready yet or that I too am still in need of parental guidiance.

    Sometimes the fog is bliss though! I don’t want to know all that is happening.

    Reply
  • 7. qdawg  |  May 12, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    hate to break this to you, but that feeling never leaves…with my 17 year old i still tend to forget that she is virtually an adult, even though i am not most of the time

    Reply
  • 8. Ginger  |  May 13, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    SO FUNNY GILLIE!! Blame the fog, I love it!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

