Put down the remote

May 12, 2008 at 2:41 pm 6 comments

If you wake up on a Monday morning, feeling lowly for no particular reason.

If you go through the morning routine, pick out school clothes for the kids, kiss them as they leave for school, make oatmeal, have breakfast with your toddler, put a load of laundry in, still with a dark cloud hanging over your head, even though the sun is shinning brightly outdoors…

Don’t turn on the television and sit down with a hot mug of coffee with a little milk and turn on a morning show only to see the worlds most amazingly talented children.  Kids who aren’t even potty trained pointing out where Turkey is on the map.  Children who could catch a down beat on the drums at six months old or girls who don’t even have their periods yet who can sing like Whitney Houston.

Don’t do it.

Trust me.

I knew there was a reason why I don’t EVER turn on the television during the day.

Entry filed under: Cute kids, Parenting.

A hole in my pocket Dance Fever

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. theramblinghousewife  |  May 12, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Oh tell me about it sister . . .The 17 month old who is reading . . .
    Have you seen her?

    Meanwhile I’m telling my three year old not to eat the plastic letters . . . .(that he cannot yet identify)

    (I always convince myself that those children will grow up to be completely socially inept . . .And my children are far cuter anyway!!) (lol)

    It makes me feel a little better!

    I was just told this morning that “The Choo-Choo’s” language is delayed . . .

    (Duh . ..Do you see the hearing aids in his ears??!!)

    I’m glad I missed this show . . .

    Sorry you had to watch . . .:(

    Reply
  • […] Apples to Oranges Jump to Comments (Today’s post was written for and inspired by the Ukraine Mom over at Pocket Lint.) […]

    Reply
  • 3. michele  |  May 12, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    …kids who will burn out and become drug addicts by the age of 12…

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah  |  May 12, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Tell me about it! No TV here there is enough to compare my family to without it.

    Reply
  • 5. Tara  |  May 13, 2008 at 5:15 am

    seriously! I saw those kids on Oprah today and it did NOT improve my day!

    Reply
  • 6. Bonnie  |  May 15, 2008 at 2:11 am

    eek! I wouldn’t know how to relate to a kid like that! I much prefer our little love bugs and all their sweet smiles!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

