More Music

May 19, 2008 at 2:01 am 6 comments

I like to sing. 

I sang a lot growing up.  At first my concerts mostly took place in front of the full length mirror in my bedroom with the anecdotal wooden spoon as a microphone.  But my singing life really took off after my dad taught me all the lyrics to My Favorite Things from The Sound of Music on a really long car trip.

In high school I loved to participate in the choir and sing in musicals and add jazz hands to my solos.  I got to wear a white tuxedo shirt with a sparkly blue bow tie and cumber bun in the chorale. 

Nice.

The ability to carry a tune is passed down from my father.  One of my mom’s favorite stories about going to high school with my dad is that the choir teacher always had him start a song because he had perfect pitch.  She was also told in choir, on several occasions, to listen to my dad to learn how a song should be sung.

So I back-stroked through my small pond of high school singing The Star Spangled Banner at the beginning of basketball games and belting out jingles while scampering around knocking people over with my (by then) infamous jazz hands on stage year after year in musicals. (Mind you, this was in the early 90’s, back before high school musicals were cool.)

Then in college, well, how do I put this? 

I didn’t make the choir. 

The pond turned into Lake Michigan.  There were lots of kids who had fabluous jazz hands and vibrato and a million different colored bow ties.  I bombed my freshman audition.  My tie was placed up in the closet and the door closed on that part of my life.  I adjusted, put my voice on the shelf and moved on.

I still love to sing though. 

While dating, S dutifully listened to my ballads.  In the beginning of our relationship he was always ready with a smile when I would ask, “would you like to hear me sing the theme song from Beaches… again?”  Sometimes I got him to learn one of my songs on his guitar so that he could accompany me.

 Sadly his enthusiasm for personal concerts has paled through the years.

Thankfully, though, I had children. 

Likely suspects.  

All three of my girls have been rocked and lullabied to sleep.  Sometimes I still break into song if one of my older daughters are sad or bored.  The problem is they join in and I prefer solos.

Now I am left with an audience of one.  Polly loves music.  She gives a big toothy smile when I sing The Itsy Bitsy Spider or The Wheels on The Bus.  She even obliges a little Bette Midler or my earthy rendition of the Beatles’ Let It Be at meal time. 

Friday at lunch she ate and I sang.  When I finished, she clapped and signed “more music.” 

You know, I do have a full length mirror upstairs…   

Entry filed under: Cute kids, Family, Jazz, Marriage, Polly, Singing.

I need to get out more All You Need is Love

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Justin  |  May 19, 2008 at 4:22 am

    Gill,
    I remember you messing up the lyrics to that classic Kenny Rogers song “Lucille”. You must of been around 3 or 4 years old, standing upright right next to Dad in the station wagon (no constricting seat belts for 1970’s family) singing (loudly) “YOU PICKED A FINE TIME TO LEAVE ME LUCILLE, WITH FOUR HUNDRED CHILDREN AND A CRAP IN THE FIELD…!” Some fertile farmer he was!! According to your version, he needed to get out of the bedroom and tend to the crap in his field.

    Amy and I also enjoyed your confused version of “Shake Your Booty” which I leave to your faithful readers to guess which word in the title was changed just a little bit (hint – slang for breast, begins with B and ends with Y).

    Your vocally challenged (but lyrically precise) bro.

    Reply
  • 2. ukrainemom  |  May 19, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Ah…yes, my family reputation precedes this post! Thanks for the reminders (hangs her head in embarrasment).

    Reply
  • 3. qdawg  |  May 19, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    what is it gonna cost me for you and s to sing the theme from beaches for me and denise?

    Reply
  • 4. thetreedreamer  |  May 19, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Gillie!!! I remember you singing in your fabulous bow tie..”bridge over troubled waters” and your many musicals…my fav..”poor unfortuate souuuuuls”, and remember how I always made you sing songs for people, I would be all, “YOU HAVE GOT TO HEAR MY BEST FRIEND SING…(fill in the blank) SHE ROCKS!!! You were like my personal side show!! But always a GREAT sport! I think your girls all love it when you sing High School Musical songs with them!! At least being a mommy we get to bust it out every once in a while!! Love this post!! Good times….good times.

    Reply
  • 5. ukrainemom  |  May 19, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    I’ll talk to my handler and see if we can hook you guys up, Q!

    Reply
  • 6. cindyfey  |  May 25, 2008 at 2:19 am

    I always thought Kenny Rogers was singing “four hundred children” too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

