No Problem, Mom!

June 2, 2008 at 7:19 pm 12 comments

Polly did great in her preschool class this morning.  During breakfast I talked to her about school, how she will get to play and have a snack and color and listen to music.  She just looked at me out of the corner of her eyes and blinked. 

I was nervous.  I envisioned her crying, her little chubby two-year-old fist gathering up the material of my shirt into a stress ball.

When we walked in through the door of the therapy center she was unsure, thinking this was maybe another greatly feared physical therapy session. 

I am NOT SURE!

I hurried her back to class.  She scooted her little walker in and waved to everybody and smiled and laughed.  Kids, well, they were sad.  Some were being soothed by teachers, others were laying on the ground banging their legs, “don’t make me stay here.” 

Maybe the sad kids would cue Polly to be sad too?  I asked her if she wanted to sit at the table with some other children and color.  She nodded yes.

I got this!

She colored and I loomed over her like a dark cloud. I wasn’t ready to leave. I clicked a few pictures then looked around and noticed I was the only parent left in the room.

The teachers gently shooed me out and closed the door.  “She’ll be fine,” they said.

I went to my car, alone, without a diaper bag, without holding a chubby bottom, without two little arms  tight around my neck, without a walker.

I picked her up at Noon and she was still smiling.  She was fine.  She was better than fine.  She was great.

I place limits on Polly every day.  It’s unintentional, but true.  Our little chat this morning prepared her for class.  She had understood everything I told her.  She was ready for school.

This kid amazes me.

Entry filed under: Polly, Preschool, Therapy.

I’m Schooled In the Zone

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. michele  |  June 2, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    that is so cool. is is a crappy word to describe it but i am out of good adjectives today.

    Reply
  • 2. Gwen  |  June 2, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Love the last shot! So darling. And glad to hear that Polly enjoyed her first day.

    Reply
  • 3. joannmski  |  June 2, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    It’s a happy, yet vaguely bittersweet, thing when our kids do so well without us! But we rejoice with you that she did so well!

    Reply
  • 4. amyeg  |  June 2, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Awwwwh… I was just thinking in church the other day about how cute Polly was up on stage. Freaking adorable.

    We should get together sometime for writing, no?

    Reply
  • 5. Deanne  |  June 2, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    I am happy for Polly that her first day of preschool went so well! Hooray, praise the Lord!!!

    Reply
  • 6. crickl's nest  |  June 2, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    Wonderful! I am welled up with happy tears for you!

    Beautifully written too.

    Reply
  • 7. theramblinghousewife  |  June 3, 2008 at 1:41 am

    Love her.
    Seriously.
    She’s the cutest!
    So happy she was ready! 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. noelle  |  June 3, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Wow! I am so proud of Mom for making it through. I think sometimes we put limits on them because we are afraid to admit that we are really the ones with the limits–thinking we are not ready emotionally to give up this part of our child. Look at her beautiful smile and happiness–of course she was ready and did great! Her mommy and daddy have prepared her and God has enabled them to now let her “go” just a little more than a few days ago. How wonderful–a time for true celebration of growth by the whole family.

    Miss ya!

    Reply
  • 9. alida  |  June 3, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    I am so glad that Polly had a great time and that you survived her first day!!

    Reply
  • 10. Tara  |  June 4, 2008 at 1:45 am

    I had a tough time with my kids’ first day too! I’m so glad she did so well.

    Reply
  • 11. Shannon  |  June 5, 2008 at 3:01 am

    That’s great news, kids surprise us all the time with their independence!

    Reply
  • 12. Bonnie  |  June 5, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Yeah friend!!!!

    The big city advantages and disadvantages I guess – Polly is going to school “alone” while Ella has another year and a half before I have to let her go. (Fall after she turns three).

    I’m so excited for you both that things went well – a chance for Polly and mom to grow!

    We miss you all so much and I love seeing all of Polly’s smiles on your blog!

    Hugs to all three girls from Miss Ella.
    B.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

