Clarity

June 14, 2008 at 3:44 am 5 comments

We went to Lincoln Park Zoo with a friend and her kids a couple weeks ago.

The power of five children dragged us through the park, flinging us towards the monkeys and giraffes and ostrich, even to the pathetic camel whose hump had fallen to the side.  We were like giant magnets.

It was a hot day and I forgot sunscreen.  It looked like it could rain at any time.

And then I saw polar bears swimming.  Swimming.  They were graceful and joyful plunging their huge bodies all around the tank and cutting up into the air, effortlessly, for a quick breath or two.

I was mesmerized and I did not want to leave.  We stood watching the polar bears enjoy their swim.

It became clear to me that most of us lug our bodies around the lives we lead.  We are big and bulky.  And we are not graceful.  We try to find our niche, a place to feel good, but we are self-conscious, unsure.

Wouldn’t it be nice to be like a large white polar bear swimming in deep blue water?

I’d like that.

Entry filed under: Polar Bears, Zoo.

Tutu Much Relational Capacity

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jooleebrooks  |  June 14, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    I’d like that too. And in Lincoln Park Zoo. I love that place. I have yet to meet a free zoo with such quality and with breathtaking views of an awesome city skyline. Once when I was there the lion roared really loudly and I think that was really the first time I ever heard a lion roar in real life.

    And I miss Zoo Lights at Christmas. Those polar bears have it made.

    Reply
  • 2. AEG  |  June 16, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Well, I just love this entry. I like when you say we lug our bodies around the lives we lead. That’s how I feel ALL the time.

    I have a grand idea, I wanted to run it past you. Do you want to exchange writing via email? I know it is not the same as meeting in person, but we can still meet to talk about it sometimes… we can just get more done by reading each other’s work and commenting online and then when we meet up we can talk and socialize without feeling pressed for time.

    Just an idea. Glad you had fun at the zoo!!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. alida  |  June 16, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    I love going to the zoo!!! Great photo!

    Reply
  • 4. theramblinghousewife  |  June 17, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Yes, and as hot as it is here, right now . . .

    I would love to be a Polar Bear too! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. tracey  |  June 23, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    A polar bear? No, no thanks. The whole disappearing environment and all. And in a zoo? Nah. But a bird? Yes. That is something I could enjoy. The freedom of a bird….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

