Mean Mama

July 7, 2008 at 3:16 pm 5 comments

I was a tad emotional last week. 

Lately Polly’s school and therapy times have gone, well, badly.

It is a lot.  She is in preschool two mornings a week, for three hours.  And a new class means new therapists and teachers, new activities, new socialization.  After the first two weeks, the honeymoon is officially over.  Polly’s having a hard time being the new kid in town around there.  And so she cries, hard, for a long time.  The last few times I’ve picked her up, the therapist gives me a tight smile and a grimace, “she had a rough day today” she says quietly. 

Then when she gets home she has to eat and take a nap in order to be ready for her home therapy sessions later in the afternoon. 

I’ve been close to losing it.  I just don’t know what’s best for her, how to help her through this rough patch, how to discern if this new schedule is too much or something she simply needs to get used to.

And now I feel really bad for the customer service representative from a XYZ organization that caught my wrath the other day on the phone.  He called just after I dropped Polly off at class as I was driving down the street. 

“Hello.”

“Hello.  May I please speak with Gill-anne Elaine?”

“Yes.  This is Gillian.”

“Joanne?  Is Elaine there?”

“This is GILLIAN, the person you wish to speak with.”

“Oh, sorry, yes, Gillian, I am calling from XYZ…how are you today?”

And this is when it got ugly.

“I’m fine (said with emotion) but I am not going to blah blah blah blah and I would appreciate it if you people would stop calling me every couple of weeks.” 

Click.

Oh my. 

I have to say though, I felt better.

But now I feel bad for that poor guy who was just doing his job.

That day when I picked up Polly she had a sticker on her shirt for participating well in class and making good choices.

Maybe I should try yoga?

Entry filed under: Mothering, Parenting, Polly, Preschool, Therapy, Uncategorized.

The Tent Three

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joannmski  |  July 7, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Hang in there! I am so proud of you for letting Polly adjust to her surroundings. What harder thing for a mom to do than to see her child unhappy and not “mama bear” and make the changes? But, in the long run, it will be great if she learns to adapt the world instead of make the world adapt to her.

    I have personal experience with the latter, and from what his therapist tells me, she was a behavioral therapist with Down Syndrome who can be incredibly stubborn and hard to change. So this is a very valuable life lesson for Polly to learn that will benefit her very well in the future!

    Reply
  • 2. theramblinghousewife  |  July 7, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    The transitions are just as hard on the Mom as the child! 🙂
    Hope it gets better soon!

    Reply
  • 3. juliepippert  |  July 7, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Transitions are rough anyway and it could very well be extra rough on you two. I’m glad it ended with her getting that sticker and having a good day. I hope it’s the turning point.

    And as for the company call, well, you know, sometimes you have to get firm. Maybe it seemed like they called at the wrong time but it was just the right time after all.

    Reply
  • 4. ukrainemom  |  July 8, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Thanks you guys for your kind comments. I do think this transition has been tough…on me.

    I appreciate your comments.

    Reply
  • 5. thetreedreamer  |  July 16, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    hey i am back online and here to grace you with my comments!! hee hee. i was thinking of when riley transitioned over to webster, he cried EVERY morning for the first 3 months. one morning he played dead….yes, dead. i couldn’t wake him up AL ALL….since this is usually a feat reserved for the likes fo kadin, i was really starting to worry, he was TOTALLY unresponsive, i was verging on panic (i had an episode as a child like this, and was hospitalized) so that was flying through my mind, i finally yelled, “if you don’t open your eyes i am calling 911”, to which, his eyes fluttered open and he started to wail….”i don’t want to go to school”…..i didn’t know whether to laugh of cry….kids, but the point is, it took him almost 3 1/2 months to not cry every morning, after that he got better and better, and now he loves it and has many friends, ….but i hated the process…i can only imagine what you are going through with little polly, hang in there. love you, ging’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

