Three

July 15, 2008 at 2:30 am 3 comments

Often I get caught up in the world of disability.  Mounds of time is spent pondering what “could” happen to Polly.  I day dream about her future.  Will she be in a typical class room?  Will kids make fun of her?  Will her health continue to be good?  Will people see her, really see her?

I get enthralled with Polly’s latest tricks.  My brother-in-law suggested last week that we simply leave Polly alone.  Because I find that I want her to perform for people.  To show off what she knows, that she is able to learn, that she is more normal than people assume she is.  I want to show the world that Polly uses sign language easily, that she loves to laugh, that she absolutely digs a chocolate ice cream cone.  Just like the rest of us. 

I want others to see that I am OK with Down syndrome…more importantly, that I love my daughter more than life.

And then I am reminded that I have three daughters.  Somebody mentions Elaina or Zoya, I see an add with a child that looks like them… I take a moment and look one of them in the eye and see the spark that only they can give.

I have three children.  And my struggle now is to balance their lives, give everyone attention, see each child for who she is and help to nourish what is going on in her.

My sea legs in the world of Down syndrome have gotten a bit sturdier.  Now the challenge is balance.

For all of our sakes.

Entry filed under: Down syndrome, Elaina, Family, Parenting, Polly, Zoya.

Mean Mama Five to Two

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kristi  |  July 30, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    I go through the same thing. Trying to balanc it all out. I have a 12 year old girl, and a 6 year old son with Autism.

    Reply
  • 2. kristi  |  July 30, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Oops, misspelled balance! My girl is NT and my son is the one with Autism.

    Reply
  • 3. Bookmarks about Lint  |  January 19, 2009 at 8:31 am

    […] – bookmarked by 5 members originally found by nmlau on 2008-12-25 Three https://lintofpocket.wordpress.com/2008/07/15/three/ – bookmarked by 3 members originally found by […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

