PMS, Conjunctivitis and Sister Secrets

August 5, 2008 at 6:14 pm 9 comments

Our scheduled, crazy busy week has turned into a week of cancelled therapy sessions and outings, doctor visits, boredom, itchiness and lots of television.

Elaina started it all with puffy, oozy eyes on Monday.  By bed time she was coughing and sneezing and a little warm.  Polly woke up this morning unable to open her eyes, the poor dear.

And although I am crabby, I have a great sense of relief in cancelling our life for a few days. 

We are taking a time out.

Time goes so slow when you have a bad case of PMS and are home with three little girls, two of whom are sick.

The girls are troopers though.  They are in good spirits except when I come at them with warm wash clothes to wipe their eyes.  They like to hang out in an imaginary world created under the dinning room table.  They pretend to be spies in gymnastic suits and look behind the couch for clues to their mystery.  All three climb the stairs throughout the day hoping to find inspiration to start a new game.

Yesterday Elaina and Zoya taught Polly how to tell secrets.  As I snapped this picture my eyes glossed over.  Seeing all three girls happily playing, life so incredibly mundane and normal, things I thought were impossible after we learned of Polly’s diagnosis.  I was so wrong.

A sick day once in a while can do wonders for the soul.

Oh no, my eyes are starting to itch.

Entry filed under: Down syndrome, PMS, Sickness, Sisters, Therapy.

Prayers for Emma “Never go full retard”

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dalogan  |  August 5, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    As someone that has watched my wife take a break every now and then from all the therapy and doctor visits, I understand how you feel. Sometimes there is something everyday of the week. Take a break!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Tara  |  August 5, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    I would like to cancel my life for a few days too! Hope everyone gets better quick!

    Reply
  • 3. michele  |  August 5, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    mine are itching too.

    Reply
  • 4. Ging'  |  August 6, 2008 at 4:30 am

    How cute is little Polina in this picture!! Love that her big sisters are teaching her and loving her! What amazing babies you have, keep up the good work as a mommy, and enjoy your weekend “break”. wish I was there, but hopefully soon.

    Reply
  • 5. alida  |  August 7, 2008 at 8:25 am

    what a beautiful photo!!

    Reply
  • 6. Gwen  |  August 7, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Love the photo!

    And pink eye is AWFUL. I hope you are spared.

    Reply
  • 7. jooleebrooks  |  August 9, 2008 at 8:15 am

    OOH itchy-itchy-ouch-ouch!! Wish I could be a butterfly on your wall and spy on these little whispering spies.

    Reply
  • 8. Christine  |  August 10, 2008 at 3:38 am

    My eyes are starting to tear! That picture of your girls is just the sweetest; wonder what their secret was?

    Reply
  • 9. “Never go full retard” « Pocket Lint  |  August 11, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    […] was grouchy because it was my turn for the gooey eyes.  I had to wear my old pair of glasses with an even older prescription.  The sun hurt my eyes and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

