Stuff

September 2, 2008 at 3:23 pm 2 comments

I love stuff.  I can’t help it, I do.  Decorations, paper, clothes, you name it.

As a child I used to sock away any unwanted junk mail, scraps of paper and advertisements that landed on our porch on Sunday mornings. 

A moment of confession; I still pay bills with good old fashioned checks.  It feels so grown up scribbling my name across the bottom of a check.  To date I have done my best to ignore on-line payment plans even though I know it is much better for the environment and for our pocket book to do away with un-needed stamps and paper.

Last night my husband and I watched a movie we ordered from Netflix.  Half way through I realized that I actually own this movie.  It’s packed up and stored in my friend’s attic there across the ocean.  The movie is in good company; pots and pans, a beautiful set of dishes seating twelve, scarves for freezing winters, books, toys, silverware.

I have a whole other life of stuff still in Ukraine.  We left quickly after Polly was born.  Our suitcases were packed hastily with clothes and a few odds and ends that I still scratch my head about.   

My kids talk about their baby books often that were left behind in Ukraine with a promise that we’d be back soon, if not to live at least to get some of our stuff. 

I wanted to show our neighbors who are getting married soon our wedding pictures but alas, they are packed away in Ukraine as well.

Officially, we own almost two of everything it takes to make a household function.  A ‘stuff-aholic’ should feel great about it. 

But I don’t.

I feel divided.

Like I am building a new life when my perfectly good old life is placed up on a shelf next to my collection of Hemingway novels in someone else’s house.

Entry filed under: Books and Writing, Ukraine.

Bath time My weekend in the village

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindyfey  |  September 8, 2008 at 1:10 am

    What’s the plan to retrieve the stuff?

    Reply
  • 2. Amy  |  September 8, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    awww hugs. i love that you are HERE though!!! its so wonderful to see yoU!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

