My weekend in the village

September 9, 2008 at 5:35 pm 3 comments

Last weekend S and the kids and I begged off of life in Chicago and drove to Peoria, IL to meet on-line friends in real life. 

I couldn’t wait to leave.  On the way there I told S I felt like we were travelling to see Polly’s aunties.

And that we were.

Polly’s birth has brought many things to my life.  Brokenness, a clearer vision of what matters most, an opportunity to better myself and those around me, compassion, empathy, joy.

And friends.

I belong to an on-line forum of parents who have children with Down syndrome.  The day I got home from the hospital after having Polly in Ukraine I did a search for the words “parents to children with Down syndrome” and the first site that popped up was this forum.  For over two years I have daily logged on and smiled at sweet pictures, cried over sickness, cheered and laughed with other parents when our kids meet their milestones. 

The first time I looked into the faces of families on the forum I thought, “I can do this.”  With their help and with God’s help, I am doing it.  And the experience is utterly amazing.

“It takes a village to raise a child.”

I love the village I live in.

Entry filed under: Down syndrome, Friends, Hospital stays, Special Needs, Ukraine.

Stuff Evals

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Terri  |  September 9, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Well written. I too love the village we live in.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer  |  September 9, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    It was wonderful to meet you IRL. Polly and the gang can come live with me anytime. Oh, and you’re welcome too. —Jen

    Reply
  • 3. kristi  |  September 24, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    If it weren’t for blogging, I think some days I would lose my mind.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

