Evals

September 16, 2008 at 12:21 am 12 comments

Polly gets evaluated in all the major areas of development every six months.  Therapists watch her attempts at stacking blocks and placing puzzle pieces correctly, they look to see if she is cruising, how many words and signs she knows, if she knows how to answer “wh” questions like “what’s your name?”

She’s tested.  I am given a report about her strengths and weaknesses.  And a whole team of people make goals for her in every area of her life. 

It’s all very official, multiple copies and signatures, time lines, stamps of approval.

I wish I had this. 

Imagine a group of people coming to your house twice a year to discuss you. 

Mine would be something like this.

“Mrs. Marchenko has not met any of her physical therapy goals.  She does not work out consistently and is entirely addicted to Fritos.  The only goal met in the last six months; she bought one work out video entitled “Pilates for dummies.”

Social gains have not been met either.  She says things at the wrong time to the wrong people and sweats profusely in large groups.  It’s been noted on the report that the clinical version of Dove antiperspirant has not made any hoped for improvements.

We recommend more therapy.  Much more therapy.

Wouldn’t that be helpful?

Entry filed under: Down syndrome, Early Intervention, Special Needs, Therapy.

My weekend in the village Random observations that don’t mean anything, really

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. crickl's nest  |  September 16, 2008 at 1:57 am

    *gulp*

    That must be so stressful. Do you get one of those copies of the eval?

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa  |  September 16, 2008 at 2:58 am

    Gillian, you are hilarious!

    Reply
  • 3. Deanne  |  September 16, 2008 at 4:27 am

    lol….I totally agree! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. joannmski  |  September 16, 2008 at 7:52 am

    This is so funny!!

    Reply
  • 5. Anne Bayer  |  September 16, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Gill you are my daughter and you are doing what I do I am sorry about the fact that you are so much like your Mom. I hope you also got soem of my good qualities, let me think a minute… times up mabye there are none. I love you and your writing. No I would not want to be Eval’ed that would kill me and them. Love to you all see you Sat. Mom

    Reply
  • 6. Amy  |  September 16, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I don’t think I want to be eval’d either…I keep telling people that maybe I will be perfect tomorrow, then they can evaluate me…NOT!
    I think your eval would also state that Gillian has survived and chooses to thrive despite minor or major setbacks. Gillian also monitors herself well and is growing through the transitions in her life! You are a treasure and a blessing…

    Reply
  • 7. Jennifer  |  September 16, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    Thanks for the giggle. Soph had 2 evals in the past 2 days and I needed the laugh. —Jen

    Reply
  • 8. qdawg  |  September 16, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    joanne, why is this evaluation all about you, shouldnt sergio really be the one who needs the evaluation

    Reply
  • 9. ukrainemom  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Indeed.

    Reply
  • 10. Sergei  |  September 19, 2008 at 3:17 am

    Gillian, you are awesome at stacking blocks. It is just that tendency to knock them down that worries me…

    Reply
  • 11. amyeg  |  September 23, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Uuuugh someone to evaluate me would be so good right now! I’m sure I’d get high marks in penmanship and singing.

    Gillian, you’d get high marks in singing, too. And blogging!

    Reply
  • 12. theramblinghousewife  |  September 29, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Um yeah. This is hilarious. I would be scared to see what my eval would say!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

