Random observations that don’t mean anything, really

September 19, 2008 at 2:06 pm 3 comments

Yesterday was a crazy day. 

From the time I woke up until my head hit the pillow I was running around; a meeting at my house in the morning, Polly met her new developmental therapist at Noon, kids and homework in the afternoon, a mad dash to three different stores in the evening and then back home to make party favors for a baby shower we are having at church Sunday.

Those who know me well understand that all this activity is so not me.

At some point in the afternoon I watched Polly and Elaina roll around on the floor.  It hit me that Polly’s body, when stretched out, is long.  She is longer than half of Elaina’s body, more like 3/4.  For a second, both girls looked huge to me and I caught my breath.  Where has the time gone?  I looked behind me and in front of me but I just couldn’t find it.

Later I drove down Ashland at dusk and saw a group of six or seven-year-old boys kicking soccer balls around in a little green field.  Two or three men, assumingly dads, stood around, hands in pockets, sunglasses on.  Their voices rang out to the boys as cars and SUVs zoomed by.  People driving, no doubt, to something incredibly important.  Driving on in our busy, jam-packed days of life while boys in a soccer field learn how to kick a ball with the insides of their feet.

Entry filed under: Elaina, Family, Mothering, Parenting, People Watching, Polly, Therapy.

Evals Spiritual Chicken

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Madison Warren  |  September 21, 2008 at 3:36 am

    Hey!
    I’ve nominated you for a blog award! Stop by my blog and check it out!

    Madison & Andros

    Reply
  • 2. Julie Pippert  |  September 21, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Oh when they get all long, suddenly, and get more angles and less curves. When their geometry changes, and you catch it and your breath.

    Reply
  • 3. amyeg  |  September 23, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Gillian I love that last paragraph about the boys kicking with the insides of their feet. Beautiful description. Can’t wait to meet with you again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

