Oops!

September 25, 2008 at 6:58 pm 8 comments

The tooth fairy forgot to come last night. 

We had one very unhappy six year old at our house this morning.

I suggested that maybe the tooth fairy was really far away last night like in China and couldn’t make it back in time.

Then my eight year old leaned over and whispered “I think I know who the tooth fairy is.”  I said nothing.

And a horrible tooth fairy at that.  

I managed to spoil both of my children’s childhoods in about fifteen minutes.

Entry filed under: Mothering, Parenting.

Spiritual Chicken Should I?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. michele  |  September 25, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    The Winnipeg tooth fairy is also forgetful. She once wrote an apology note because of her lax behaviour. Now the kids just ask for the cash.

    Reply
  • 2. joannmski  |  September 25, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Um, we don’t often find that the tooth fairy visits on the first night either.

    Reply
  • 3. 4daisies  |  September 25, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    There have been a couple occasions when I grabbed a dollar when they weren’t looking and told them we should search around on the floor in case the money had fallen out from under the pillow…then I quick planted the $ and they find it in the bed covers or on the floor…and everyone is happy. The funny thing is, we have told them from day one that Santa isn’t real but we still play the Tooth Fairy game…go figure.

    Reply
  • 4. Christine  |  September 26, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    The tooth fairy is very forgetful. I think that as parents we should just let our kids know from the start that unlike Santa and the Easter Bunny–the tooth fairy has a couple of days to get the job done.

    I always take the blame when tooth fairy is a no show–blame it on my being up late–scaring fairy away.

    Kids have started liking the tardy tooth fairy–she seems to leave more $$$–ah the guilt.

    Reply
  • 5. Amy  |  September 29, 2008 at 3:09 am

    you are not the only guilty party! its happend here more than once, but dont worry, it didnt spoil their childhood!!

    Reply
  • 6. Karen Putz/ DeafMom  |  September 29, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    LOL that happened to me a few times.

    Reply
  • 7. Kristen  |  September 30, 2008 at 2:25 am

    When I was 6 or 7, I looked my Dad straight in the eye and asked him, “Are you the Easter Bunny?” “Yes,” he admitted. “How about Santa? Are you Santa?” “Yes,” he said. “Are you the Tooth Fairy?” I asked, “Absolutely not,” he told me, and even though I probably knew he was lying, I decided to believe him anyway. Sometimes, kids make up their own truths in spite of all evidence, just because they want to believe what they believe. Let yourself off the hook and re-spin the web of fantasy for your 6- and 8-year-olds. If they want to believe in the tooth fairy, they will. Oh, and thanks for reminding me to go put a dollar under my daughter’s pillow tonight in exchange for her newly lost tooth. I almost forgot! 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Tanya  |  October 1, 2008 at 12:08 am

    I’ve done this more times than I can count. LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

