Pretty All True, my accounts of having a baby with Down syndrome in the Former Soviet Union

October 1, 2008 at 2:56 pm 11 comments

October is Down syndrome Awareness month.

I have decided to tell my story about having Polly in Ukraine.  Posts will be pulled from my journals from that time and from about 45 pages of bad writing that have piled up in my hard drive.  Some names will be changed as I see fit.

If you are new to this series, I recommend starting with Day One and reading to the present installment.

**********************************************************************

Oh and…

My kids love the “Olivia” books, about a cute little pig named, of course, Olivia.  In one story she gets up for show and tell at school and talks about going to the circus with her mother.  She claims that all of the performers and animals were sick and that she had to take over the entertainment.  At the end of her monologue her teacher asks,

“Olivia, is all of that true?”

And she answers “pretty all true”.

The teacher then asks her if she is sure.

Olivia’s answer is, “to the best of my recollection.”

That’s how I feel about these accounts.  I am telling them to the best of my recollection.  The words are pretty all true.

***************************************************************

Entry filed under: 31 for 21, Down syndrome, Fromer Soviet Union, Gillian Marchenko, Having a baby, Hospital stays, Olivia books, Russian, Special Needs, Ukraine.

Should I? Day One

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebecca Talley  |  October 1, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Hi,

    I’m launching a new website and want to include stories of people with children with Down syndrome. If you’d like to submit your story, have me link to your story, or get more information, please email me.

    Thanks.

    Reply
  • 2. Anne Bayer  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    I am so happy to hear you will wirte about yoiur struggles with DS I am sure they will be insightful. I enjoy your efforts. And now with knitting mistakes I can always look at the sweater or whaterver and know it is mine form the errors. I have learned to love impertfection.

    Reply
  • 3. jennifergg  |  October 3, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    ooooh i am so excited to read! and i’m so proud of you!

    xo

    Reply
  • 4. Karimomtofourgirls  |  October 6, 2008 at 12:51 am

    WOW!! This story is so well written and beautiful. I couldn’t stop reading and felt like I was there with you. Can’t wait to read more. Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience with us!!

    Reply
  • 5. Alida  |  October 8, 2008 at 9:29 am

    Thank you so much for doing this!! I am sitting here in awe and eager for the next installment!

    Reply
  • 6. Ali  |  October 23, 2008 at 3:04 am

    Hey, I just read all your entries about Polly’s story, and is so well done written and cant wait to read the next lol

    hugs from mexico

    Reply
  • 7. this  |  May 15, 2013 at 8:33 am

    Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really
    make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Thanks

    Reply
  • Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your blog. You have some really good articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some articles
    for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send
    me an email if interested. Cheers!

    Reply
  • 9. the pirate bay  |  March 2, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    The media for downloading has not been this easy and quick
    as it is now. Instant availability is precisely what is triggering ebook piracy
    too. Now, movies aren’t the one thing that piracy trackers allow links too.

    Reply
  • 10. https://plus.google.com  |  March 8, 2014 at 4:41 am

    Appreciating the dediction yyou put into your blog and inn depth information
    you provide. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a
    while that isn’t the same old rehasshed material.
    Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your
    RSS feeds tto my Google account.

    Reply
  • 11. apple store  |  May 20, 2015 at 4:09 pm

    It is about us to choose between these apps and choose which one to buy and download.
    This ensures that you can now takes place phone as being a credit card to shop in retail
    stores. Share & discuss all of your enterprise
    app development requirement with experts and discuss all in detail.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

