Day Seventeen

October 17, 2008 at 10:51 pm 2 comments

I walked a little bit farther, a few more steps every day the first week in the hospital.  My mom and Sergei took turns keeping me company and staying with the girls at our apartment. 

Every morning I woke up, surprised that this was my life.  I’d swing my legs over to the side of the bed and call the nurse’s station for more Always maxi pads.  I’d do a little hop down off the high hospital bed while gripping my incision and toddle into the bathroom.  Face washed, hair pulled back in a pony tail, white terry cloth bathrobe belted around my middle I’d take a deep breath.  Then I would open up the large wooden door of my hospital room and walk across the hall to see my daughter.

The day after my mother’s arrival from American she was determined to make two things happen: I needed a shower and the baby needed a name.  Not able to think, I told my husband it was his turn.  I picked Elaina and Zoya’s names; Elaina after my grandmother Elaine and Zoya was picked out of a Ukrainian baby book that Sergei’s mother had mailed to us after the news of her second grandchild’s pending arrival.

“Her name is Polina.  Polina Sergeyevna Marchenko,” my husband declared.  Polina means “little one” which suited her just fine at the time.  I found a black pen in the desk next to my hospital bed and wrote her name with a shaky fist on the pink baby card outside her incubator. 

It was official.

Entry filed under: 31 for 21.

Day Sixteen Day Eighteen

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kris  |  October 19, 2008 at 12:54 am

    I have enjoyed your writing, I cannot imagine giving birth to a little one with Down syndrome in Ukraine, When we adopted Kara, they called her a sick child with crazy eyes. She is such a delightful little girl.

    I look forward to reading the rest of Polina’s story

    Reply
  • 2. sue  |  November 18, 2008 at 3:37 am

    oh my gosh, when lleyton was still in my belly i would call him L.O. for Little One.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

