Day Twenty-seven

October 29, 2008 at 12:54 am 2 comments

We were in the hospital a total of twenty days.  The last week Polly was well enough to be out of her incubator.  During the day she stayed in my room with me and we sat on the high hospital bed and I tried to get her to drink two ounces of formula out of a bottle.  It would take forty-five minutes.  She tired easily and her suck was weak.

Polly was so small, so bird-like.  I willed her to drink formula, whispering softly in her ear.  Having her in my arms helped my depression, although I was still scared about the future, hers and my own.

Sergei brought Elaina and Zoya over occasionally to visit us.  I’d laugh when they walked into the room, their hair all done up, Zoya wearing Elaina’s shirt, two sizes too big, Elaina squeezed into a pair of Zoya’s pajama paints.  My mom did the best she could in a foreign country, hours on end with two rambunctious girls ready to play, too afraid to leave the apartment.  She ate a lot of M&Ms for six weeks.

The girls decorated Polly with kisses and affection.  I watched them love her effortlessly and wished I could follow their lead. 

I was ready to leave the hospital but fearful too.  Polly still wasn’t eating well and I knew once I left my little tan room life was going to get crazy.

We decided to move back to America.  I could hardly believe it.  Suddenly, all the things that I struggled with in Ukraine and about Ukraine were endearing.  It was mine.  Something getting taken away from me.

When I thought about leaving all that we had worked for, all that God had done in and through us in the last three and a half years I was sick to my stomach.  And in the next breath I was sure that we were doing the right thing.  The best place for Polly to thrive, to receive therapy and medical attention was in the States.  It was the right decision for our family.

Sergei was already scrambling around, passing on the baton at church to a gregarious man who was ready for the call.  He met with the land lady to sever our lease.

The plan was to leave the hospital with our new daughter that week.  And it seemed the whole hospital was unsure about what to do.  Nobody knew how to send us off.

Entry filed under: 31 for 21, Down syndrome, Kiev, Mothering, Parenting, Ukraine.

Day Twenty-six Day Twenty-eight

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Terri  |  October 29, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    I am so glad you moved back to the states and I have had the pleasure of meeting you, Sergei and the girls!

    Reply
  • 2. Update « Pocket Lint  |  February 20, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    […] to the side (per the nurse’s instructions) and I marvel at the fact that here we are again; Polly and I in the hospital, except this time it will be two days instead of twentyand it’s America instead of Ukraine […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

