Day Thirty-one

October 31, 2008 at 2:04 pm 14 comments

I am amazed that I actually posted the whole month of October for Down syndrome awareness month.  It has been a wonderful experience for me to go back to the time of Polly’s birth, to look at what I wrote then and fill in the blanks, to share with others.  Thanks to those of you who read my words and commented here and there.

We’ve come a long way.  I’m hardly ever sad that Polly has Down syndrome these days.  It does happen sometimes, but the feelings are fleeting.  I learn so much  about life and myself and God from Polly.

And now I suppose we are ready for a new story. 

Sergei and I have committed to pursue the adoption of a little girl from Eastern Europe who has Down syndrome. 

I can’t really explain how we got here.  We have talked about adoption and after my time of grieving Polly’s diagnosis our conversations about adoption included the words Down syndrome.

Then I saw this little one’s face and I knew that once again our lives were going to change.  And although it will be a difficult and tedious process and at times I will wonder why in the world we would commit to something like this it all will pale in comparison to what God has for our family as we step out in faith.

This is Veronika and she is six months younger than Polly.  God willing, if we get her we would like to change her name to Evangeline.  We found her through an on-line ministry called Reece’s Rainbow.

Pocket Lint readers may have to make room in their lives for a little more lint, as do we.

Entry filed under: 31 for 21, Adoption, Blessings, Down syndrome.

Day Thirty Adoption Blog

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  October 31, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Wow! Congratulations to you all. What a wonderful thing. I wish you well on your adoption journey. Will we get to hear anymore about Polly’s story? I’ve looked forward to reading your posts this month – so much. Thank you for sharing so honestly.
    —Jen

    Reply
  • 2. Kris  |  October 31, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    I was blessed to read your story, and that of your sweet family. It is exciting that you are adopting Veronica, she has such a sweet face, and won’t life be interesting with two little ones so close in age?

    We have our sweet Kara Irina from Ukraine and Amanda from Estonia, only 5 months apart, I am also blessed to have found such wonderful daughters to add to our family of 8, now 10.

    Thank you for sharing Polly’s story, it brought back memories of when I gave birth to Meghan and the feeling I had. It also made me miss Ukraine desperately, I was there just 6 weeks, but will never forget it, and want to take Kara back someday, even though I know her reception may be mixed, we took Meghan to Ukraine and everyone was very kind to her.

    Reply
  • 3. Deborah  |  October 31, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    I have truely enjoyed reading your blog every day. Thank you for sharing your journey. I, too, would love to hear more. It’s been like reading a book page by age every day.

    Congratulations on your new daughter, I hope your adoption flows easily and quickly.

    Reply
  • 4. Terri  |  October 31, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Oh my Gillian! I am shedding tears of joy for you. I will pray that Evangeline will be in your arms soon. WOW, I can’t tell you how excited I am for your family. I am in awe at all the families from DownSyn who are adopting little ones from Reeces Rainbow. Sending prayers and big happy hugs!

    Reply
  • 5. Linda Postma  |  October 31, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    I have loved reading your posts about down syndrome and have appreciated your honesty. Polly seems like an amazing little girl. Veronika looks like a real cutie too! I wish you all the best as you work on the adoption process for her.

    Thanks for taking the time to see Michele, Yvonne and I when we were in Chicago. It was deifinitely one of the highlights of our trip.

    Reply
  • 6. Deanne  |  October 31, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    I have enjoyed reading your Polly story so very much and I look forward to hearing how the Lord continues to work and move in your lives. I am encouraged by your lives. So I say to you….bring on the lint!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Lisa  |  October 31, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    HOORAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so happy for your family. Congratulations on your decision. We look forward to following your adopion story.
    Veronica is precious!
    Love,
    Lisa

    Reply
  • 8. Ali  |  October 31, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    i enjoyed reading your story too, and im blessed and facinated to see how God change hearts, and how God heals pain, and the result is Veronica,

    God bless

    Reply
  • 9. Kandi  |  November 1, 2008 at 1:27 am

    Your story is real and amazing. I think each of us that have a child that is not exactly like we expected, no matter their special need, had those exact same thoughts and fears. Our expectations needed to die and the reality needs to be born. We always loved the child, we just needed to learn to love the special need as well. I read your entire story today and am blessed to learn of you and your sweet Polly.

    Blessings, Hugs & Prayers on your new journey.

    Reply
  • 10. Madison  |  November 1, 2008 at 1:48 am

    She’s gorgeous! I am very happy for you and will be praying for you throughout time exciting time!

    -Madison

    Reply
  • 11. June Berger  |  November 1, 2008 at 3:12 am

    How awesome! God certainly can change our lives in ways we never could have imagined. His ways are not our ways, PRAISE GOD for that!!

    Reply
  • 12. Julie  |  November 1, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    I am addicted to your page now and automatically scroll thru my blog favorites to yours first every day. So now I’m really going to miss your daily blog-ins. 🙂 I would love to hear more stories. Lint and all. 🙂 Definitely looking forward to your book some day, Gillian. God bless you in every way as He brings Evangeline into the Marchenko family. HUGS!!

    Reply
  • 13. cindyfey  |  November 2, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing Polly’s story. It was riveting reading and I’ll miss the daily posts. Now I’m crying, like Terri, at your wonderful news of Veronika joining your family. I’m so thrilled and happy for you!

    Evangeline is a beautiful name. Can you tell us about your decision to change the baby’s name? I think of Veronica as the one who wiped Jesus’ tears. I’m curious to hear your thoughts.

    Reply
  • […] I know God has called us to adopt this little girl.  And I believe in my gut that what He has for us is good.  He’s called each five of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

