Potluck redemption

December 16, 2008 at 4:12 am 5 comments

Our church has potlucks once a month.

A potluck is a meal after the service.  Everyone brings choice dishes like green bean casserole or pulled pork, scallop potatoes, jello.

Generally, I am not a fan of potlucks.  OK, I can’t stand potlucks.  Usually by the end of the church service I am ready to go.  But being that my husband is the guy up front praying and preaching, I pretty much have to stay.

And so every month I stay, and wrestle my two older daughters to the ground long enough to force feed a couple bites of a mystery casserole.  Our toddler by that time is past tired; fussy, mean, screechy and unwilling to eat anything besides saltine crackers.

So imagine my utter surprise Sunday morning, December 14th.  I found myself at church without my children; holiday potluck.

Really, it was quite magical.  I talked, I ate casseroles.  Friends looked at me time and again in disbelief that I not only lingered at the potluck but I talked and laughed; I mingled.

I  can be quite charming when I want to be.

It felt good to realize that its not potlucks per say that I hate; just potlucks with young kids, namely, with my young kids.

Potluck redemption.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Our Weekend Smoothies and popcorn at Noon

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Deborah  |  December 16, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Okay, any dinner sans kids is relaxing!

    Reply
  • 2. shea01  |  December 16, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    See, they can be fun!!! I love potlucks. WE are still trying to find a church. Every since we moved, we have not been able to find on ewe like. I have lots of fond memories of potlucks at our old church. We fasted one time and had a huge fish fry. I mealed 50 pounds of fish. It was so much fun. I am glad you finally got to enjoy one.

    Reply
  • 3. joannmski  |  December 16, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Oh yes, that’s why I started a blog. Could never speak with people while trying to corral my little kids!

    Reply
  • 4. Christine  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    So are you have you lined up childcare for next month’s potluck?You just may turn out to be Queen of the Potluck–that’s if you can pawn off the princesses.

    Reply
  • 5. choochleaper  |  December 19, 2008 at 12:24 am

    This post is almost as good as Shawshank Redemption. Church potluck… What could be cooler than that?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

