Father Daughter Dance Pictures

February 24, 2009 at 7:03 pm 12 comments

Friday night, while Polly and I were lying in her hospital bed watching ‘Back to the Future II’ (children’s hospital, only Disney channels to choose from), Sergei was at home giving Elaina and Zoya little gray and purple boxes holding new necklaces and earrings.

My friend Melanie did the girls’ hair on my behalf (she did a great job, thanks Mel!) and their dresses and tights and shoes were laid out the night before.

And they had their first date…to the Father Daughter dance.

The girls came up to the hospital with Sergei after the dance.  The nurses and I oohed and aah-ed over their appearances.  They giggled with pride and looked down at their feet a lot.

What a blessing my children are and what a blessing for them that they have a father who loves them entirely, who is present and willing even to fast dance for them.

tonsils-and-dance-0093

At home, all ready to go!

tonsils-and-dance-017

See, the foreigner will smile when it’s worth it!

tonsils-and-dance-018

Sergei had two dates, popular guy!

tonsils-and-dance-014

Way to shake your groove things!!  Yep, the whole two hours were filled with fast songs lol!  I think Sergei showed some of his moves.  Nuclear war on the dance floor indeed!

tonsils-and-dance-015

Awww….

Entry filed under: Father daughter dance.

Another chance to donate to Evangeline’s adoption Day seven is tough

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Deborah  |  February 24, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Now I know why you are adopting a daughter- Sergei loves to surround himself with beautiful girls!

    Hope the surgery went well and Polly isn’t in too much pain while recovering.

    Reply
  • 2. RK  |  February 24, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    What a great memory for the girls. And of course they look just beautiful!

    And my husband has the same issue with smiling… he keeps saying, “I AM smiling!” :o)

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer  |  February 24, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Beautiful.

    Reply
  • 4. mmichele  |  February 24, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Loved those photos! That Sergei.. what a toothy grin!

    Reply
  • 5. Deanne  |  February 25, 2009 at 1:06 am

    I love it!!! That is awesome that he did all that for his girls! I hope the night was as special for them as this post made it out to be!! 🙂 So sweet!

    Reply
  • 6. Catherine  |  February 25, 2009 at 3:53 am

    So fun! So sweet! I remember “dates” with my dad…good for you guys!

    Reply
  • 7. Christine  |  February 26, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Your girls look beautiful and happy. Before you know it, Polly will be joining them at the dance. Glad her surgery went well.

    Reply
  • 8. cindyfey  |  February 27, 2009 at 3:45 am

    What lovely pictures! What a wonderful daddy!

    Reply
  • 9. Kris  |  February 28, 2009 at 1:59 am

    The girls look lovely in their dresses! I got a chuckle when I read “See the foreiner smiles” When I was in Ukraine,no one smiled at me, I usally smile a lot when I say hello, and they looked at me like I was either mad or making fun of them. Kara still frowns a lot more than the other two, though she is happy, she is just not used to smiling all the time.

    Reply
  • 10. Alisa  |  March 4, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    That is adorable. Stumbled onto your blog and this post brought a smile to my face. I’m 39 years old and STILL a daddy’s girl. It is a blessing to have fathers who love their daughters very much. May well wishes for the improved health of your child Polly.

    Reply
  • 11. ukrainemom  |  March 4, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Alisa, thanks! Thanks everyone…we are blessed with good family members!

    Reply
  • 12. sarah  |  May 19, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    i went there with my dad once and i can not find the website i am on

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

