A Premio Dardos blog award

March 7, 2009 at 4:02 am 4 comments

premios_dardo

Thanks to Chris (and to Bethany who tagged me earlier for this award on Evie’s blog) for shooting this blog award my way.  I appreciate it, especially knowing Pocket Lint has gotten less action lately due to Expecting Evangeline.

“Premio Dardos means ‘prize darts’ in Italian.” This award acknowledges the values that every blogger shows in his or her effort to transmit cultural, ethical, literary, and personal values every day.

I’m not sure how much I ‘transmit’ here, but thanks all the same.

Here is how it works:

Step 1: Respond and rework — answer the questions on your own blog, replace one question that you dislike with a question of your own invention, add one more question of your own.

Step 2: Tag – eight other bloggers to do the same.

Here are the questions:

1) What are you wearing right now? Teal pajamas.  I know, teal?

2) What is your biggest fear? Today it’s about the adoption.  Something falling through so we can’t adopt Evangeline or anyone at all or getting her home and then freaking out about having four daughters, two of whom with special needs.  I had post partum depression after all three of my girls and I’m pretty sure I’ll have some kind of adoption equivalent once all the excitement wears off.

3) Do you nap a lot? I used to when the older girls were little.  I can’t really sleep in the day anymore although I want to sometimes.

4) Who is the last person you hugged? Polly, about an hour ago…she woke up crying.

5) What websites to you visit when you go online?  Chicago Moms Blog, Down syndrome forums, a pastor’s wife forum, our church website , adoption blogs, blogs of friends, PostSecret, MOPS, Reece’s Rainbow.

6) What was the last item you bought? Another certified copy of our marriage certificate.  Fun stuff.

7) What’s tha last book you read?  Raymond Carver’s, “Will you please be quiet, please?” (a book of short stories…loved it).

8 ) If you could go to the Oscars, who would you want to sit next to? Meryl Streep, I think.  She is so talented yet seems very kind and down to earth, like she’s not caught up in her fame.

9) Has a celebrity’s hair cut ever influenced your own hairstyle? I don’t think so.  I’ve either forgotten or blocked it out.

10) What is one skill you wish you had, but don’t: I’d like to be able to draw well.

11) What was the last movie you watched? The Visitor. 

12) What is the luckiest thing that ever happened to you?  I’m not really into luck but I did win Richard Marx concert tickets in 9th grade on the radio.  My mom dropped my friend and I at the front door and was there to pick us up at 9:30pm sharp.

13) If you had a whole day to yourself; no work, commitments or interruptions what would you do? I would sleep in till 8am, get up, have coffee that was ready and waiting for me, read a little, take a shower and go out to a bookstore and meander and read for a few hours, meet my husband or a friend at a cafe and sit outside on a sunny day, eat good food, perhaps have a glass of wine, and people watch.  Then at night I would go to a movie and come home to a blissfully quiet, uninterrupted house.

14) Is there a major goal you have that you haven’t yet achieved? To publish a book.

15) Where did you meet your spouse?  In Ukraine.  I was living in Kiev for a year and he was an interpreter who worked with our group.

16) What is something that those in blogland might not know about you?  My mom and dad own and operate a weekly newspaper.

17)What States and Countries have you visited as an adult? States: California, Colorado,  Washington DC, Indiana, Wisconsin, Oklahoma, Michigan, Illinois,  Nebraska, Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Florida, Minnesota.  Countries: Ukraine, Switzerland, Italy, Canada, The Netherlands, Poland, Hungary, Estonia.

18) What do you do to relieve stress? Read, write, blog, go for walks with the family, watch movies, talk with my husband, pray.

19) If you could change one physical trait about you what would it be? My ankles…I don’t have ankles, I have cankles.

I’m passing this award on to:

Brigitte at Van Nice Family Journey

Jen at ReJenerationS

Cindy at We All Fall Down

Joann at Joann’s Blog Adventure

Amy at Storytime with Amy

Michele at Laundromat

Meredith at Cornish Adoption Journey

Amy at Down South Musings

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Birthday to me! New sister equals new haircuts – my stake in the ground.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  March 7, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Well, aren’t you the sweetest? Thanks so much. We are (probably, I think) going to be up in Chicago the first weekend in April. There’s a conference that Mark needs to put in a small appearance to and we promised Alexander a trip on Amtrak. I’d love to see you and have the guys meet.
    —Jen

    Reply
  • 2. Christine  |  March 7, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Cankles LOL! I’m sure you are being too hard on yourself! I like how you’d spend your “day to yourself”; it sounds wonderful. Hopefully, it will be a reality one day soon.

    Reply
  • 3. joannmski  |  March 8, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Oh boy! Thanks for the tag Gillian 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. cindyfey  |  March 12, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Thanks for the award, Gillian! Now I need to start thinking about my answers…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

