I am the proud (?) owner of a silver Dodge Caravan

May 27, 2009 at 6:34 pm 8 comments

With our adoption near completion (we have a travel date!) it was time to address our car issues.

For over eight years we have been able to exist with children without a minivan.  But adding #4 to our family hasn’t left us many other options.

So yesterday, Sergei, Polly and I high-tailed it over to Car Max to trade in our Ford Escape for a new exciting minivan! (and yes, the excitement here is manufactured by an exclamation point).

While there we found a cute little Suzuki cross-over, a seven seater.  And alas!  It was the same price as the caravan we had picked out.  We test drove the cross-over and loved it.  It was hip.  It was red.  It wasn’t a van.

And then the salesman suggested we try Polly’s car seat in the cute cross-over to see how it worked.

Well, it didn’t.  We finagled, we pushed, we stuffed.  There was no way we could fit two car seats in one row and absolutely no way to easily get back to the third row seat if one toddler at there.

So with our shoulders down near our waists, we followed the salesman to his little cubicle to figure out the financing for the silver van.

Sergei is picking it up this afternoon.

But it’s big enough, has power doors which will help a lot with two little ones, and hey, it’s a car that meets the needs of the family.

I bet after I drive it with all the kids, I’ll love it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Polly’s big girl bed Our adoption blog is going private

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  May 27, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    That’s so funny! We just bought a minivan last week too and I am planning to post about it soon. Believe me when I say, I hear ya.
    —Jen

    Reply
  • 2. Renee Garcia  |  May 28, 2009 at 12:25 am

    I have a dodge grand caravan! You’ll LOVE it! I promise!

    Reply
  • 3. Ecki  |  May 28, 2009 at 1:00 am

    At least you tested the car seat before you bought the car! I considered a minivan, but just couldn’t do it. Of course, I only have 2 kids!

    Reply
  • 4. mmichele  |  May 29, 2009 at 11:17 am

    sorry about the van… happy about the growing family.

    some day you’ll bless those power doors.

    Reply
  • 5. Meredith  |  May 29, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    I think you’ll love the space QUICKLY! 🙂 We LOVE our 12 passenger 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. joannmski  |  May 29, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    I absolutely love my minivan. It’s the power doors, when you drive up to school and drop the kids off, that will just make you smile. Also it’s so fun to take a road trip. You’ll have a great time heading to your parents or somewhere, especially if you have a dvd player.

    Sure, I could look cute in my car like my neighbor in the convertible trans am…but who needs external things to make them sexy?

    Reply
  • 7. Sally  |  May 30, 2009 at 5:09 am

    We only have 2 kids and are considering a mini-van after taking an extended road trip. My husband’s work took him to a film location out of town and we joined him for a month. However it took 2 sedans to handle all our crap! I’m not proud of this but we may have to up-size soon if we ever want to do any overnight trips.

    It’s not like we’re currently driving anything cool. Remember practical trumps style everytime.

    Reply
  • 8. kristi  |  June 1, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    I wouldn’ mind having a van.
    Then I could put each kid in their own row. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

