Thankful

June 3, 2009 at 2:29 am 2 comments

Polly had her end of the year preschool assembly yesterday morning.  The youngest in the class, seemingly the most delayed, having only been a part of the group for less than two months, I was sure we were in for an interesting morning.

The announcement sent home the week before asked parents to come to the preschool award ceremony and to help say goodbye to the kids who are graduating to kindergarten.  Polly is in a blended pre-k, meaning that some students in her class have special needs and some don’t.  The other pre-k class in the school is geared only to kids with special needs. 

Polly sat with me but we sat up front, close to the class and close to her teacher, whom Polly loves, Mrs. B.  The classrooms of preschool students faced their families and sang ‘the wheels on the bus’ the ‘abc song’ and many many many more songs. 

There were two little girls in the front row with Down syndrome.  They looked to be maybe two years older than Polly.  Perhaps they were graduating?

Anyway, I was quite taken with these two girls.  I laughed at their giggles and smiled oozy smiles all over them throughout the assembly.  I tried to share the love, to notice what the other kids were doing too, but I only, really, had eyes for them.

That was Tuesday morning. the morning there was a chance that Evangeline’s country was going to vote on whether or not to halt international adoptions which could have quite possibly stopped our adoption.

As I sat there, hugging Polly, completely smitten by other children near me, most differently-abled but oh, so abled, I found myself pleading with God to bring Evie home. 

At that moment my love for her was fierce and my desire to parent her was undeniable.

I’ve come a long way in three years.  I grieved Polly’s Down syndrome deeply.  It took me a while to allow myself to fall in love with her.  I was scared of how she would function.  I thought of words like limitations and disability and delays.

At Polly’s school I was reminded once again how blessed I am to be Polly’s mom and how Down syndrome is not a scary thing to me at all anymore.  My heart thumped loudly in my chest as two dozen preschoolers sang ‘where is thumpkin?’ and I thought about how neat it will be to meet Evangeline and to help her along in this world.

Later that day we recieved an email saying that the vote never even made the docket that day in Evangeline’s country.  What a blessing!

I am saving up oozy smiles to meet her next week.

Entry filed under: Adoption, Down syndrome.

Our adoption blog is going private We’re in Evie’s country!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ecki  |  June 4, 2009 at 3:28 am

    Kayla also started 3/4 of the way in PreK (of course, since she has the same bday as Polly!). She looked like a little baby in the class and she slept through the end of year ceremony, LOL.

    Reply
  • 2. kristi  |  June 4, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Oh, those girls sound adorable!! Good luck with the adoption.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

