What we do

October 2, 2009 at 3:04 am 3 comments

October is Down syndrome Awareness month.  Last year during this month I wrote part of our story about having Polly in Ukraine and in the midst of her fighting for her life in those first weeks the news of her extra chromosome.

It was a cathartic month, writing about that experience, remembering tears and joys, sadness, darkness, light.

With Evie home just over two months, there’s no way I can blog every day this month. 

But I’m going to do a few posts.  And I’m going to get practical.

I want to talk about what we do; what I do as a mother of a child with Down syndrome.  Parenting Polly and now Evie is different than parenting my other kids.  I’d like to explain some of that.

It’s also strangely, beautifully the same.

What we do; Sergei and I, is the same thing most other parents do.  We kiss boo boos, make dinner, screw up, and try to figure out 2nd grade math.

There are things we do for our kids with DS; it’s our kind of normal but not a usual component of every day life for a family.

But it’s what we do.

And I’m going to talk about it.

Stay tuned.

Entry filed under: 31 for 21, Down syndrome.

First day of school and Disney on Ice rocked! Moyamoya? Oh, my.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  October 2, 2009 at 4:01 am

    cant wait!!

    Reply
  • 2. Meredith  |  October 3, 2009 at 12:36 am

    eagerly anticipating 🙂 Glad to have you back 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Sally  |  October 22, 2009 at 5:37 am

    It’ll be interesting to compare notes. I’m always worried I’m not doing enough. I’m also wondering if the therapies available here are much less than those available in the U.S.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our new friend Hope needs our prayers too!

Polly needs our prayers!

Reece’s Rainbow Christmas Angel Tree


To Select a Bauble For Your Blog
CLICK HERE

Archives

All material on this blog is copyright of Gillian Marchenko

